Review: Siege by Rhiannon Frater

Title: Siege (As The World Dies: A Zombie Trilogy #3)

Author: Rhiannon Frater

Release Date: April 24th 2012 (originally published August 14th 2009)

Published by: Tom Doherty Associates

Read: June 20th, 2012

Pages: 352-eBook

Series:

  1. The First Days
  2. Fighting to Survive
  3. Siege

Description: (may contain spoilers if you haven’t read book 2)

Siege is the conclusion to Rhiannon Frater’s As the World Dies trilogy, which should appeal to fans of The Walking Dead. Both The First Days and Fighting to Survive won the Dead Letter Award from Mail Order Zombie. The First Days was named one of the Best Zombie Books of the Decade by the Harrisburg Book Examiner.

The zombie illness has shattered civilization. The survivors who have found tenuous safety in Texas defend their fort against the walking dead and living bandits.

Katie has made peace with the death of her wife and is pregnant and married to Travis, who has been elected Mayor. Jenni, her stepson, Jason; and Juan—Travis’s righthand man—are a happy family, though Jenni suffers from PTSD. Both women are deadly zombie killers. In Siege, the people of Ashley Oaks are stunned to discover that the vice president of the United States is alive and commanding the remnants of the US military. What’s left of the US government has plans for this group of determined survivors.

What I thought:

This book, like the first two, is awesomely good!

I am so happy that Katie and Travis are finally together, and even though she still loves Lydia in some way, I’m glad that she’s moving on. Jenni still also deals with the death of her kids and the guilt from the first day, which still haunts her.

Speaking of haunting, one element added to this book was, you guessed it, the ghosts or spirits of the dead. Not only does this fully show that the zombies have no souls or remembrance of their former lives, but it was kind of creepy when someone showed up at the fort, being able to see them. Everyone mentions seeing waking visions or having dreams of their loved ones in book 2, but I always wondered if it was real or not. They seem to have a purpose in this, which becomes more apparent later in the book.

Even Calhoun, the crazy guy, has some sense in him than previously thought. You get a glimpse into his mind at one point of a chapter, which was pretty cool.

Everything goes crazy inside the fort when Blanche, the spoiled woman who thinks she deserves better, decides she needs to get out of there. People die and get hurt, and this leads to an expedition to a hospital, which is pretty much a suicide run for supplies.

Things go wrong, and two characters end up at the Madison base, where a bunch of other survivors are staying. Blanche’s sister has plans for them all, so she can get herself into the Central area where the Government survivors are because like her sister, she thinks she’s better than everyone. She treats the survivors holed up there as cattle, not real people that have basic needs. She plans to take over the fort that Jenni and Katie are in, but not everyone is in full agreeance with what she wants.

People sacrifice themselves, others find hope and friends, some find new love, and a lot of people die in this book. It all leads to the end, the final Siege against a massive horde of zombies. Which was awesome and you have to read it for yourselves!

This whole series, I recommend for Zombie fans! For those new or old to the genre who want something full of awesome zombie battles and characters that you’ll get attached to.

SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

One comment on “Review: Siege by Rhiannon Frater

  1. Pingback: TGIF (20)-Best I’ve Read So Far | Kelsey's Cluttered Bookshelf

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s