Guest Post: My Writing Journey-Fact or Crap? by Jennifer

My Writing Journey: Fact or Crap?

Written by Jennifer @ Reading En Vogue

Originally Published June 23rd

Today was one of those days…you know, the kind where you question your purpose in life?  I found myself thinking, “Fact or crap? I am doing exactly what I am meant to do.”

In other words, am I pursuing my passion?  What exactly is my passion?  Do I really want to be a writer or am I romanticizing the idea of being a writer?

If only it were as simple as shaking the Magic 8 Ball to discover the right answer.

I am often told that when you find something you absolutely love, you will do nothing but eat, sleep, and breathe it.

For example, the other night I watched the Fox hit TV show, So You Think You Can Dance.  Adam Shankman, a judge on the show, began to cry when one of the contestants  performed his audition dance.  The combination of Shankman’s passion and enjoyment of dance and this young contestant’s dance audition moved Shankman to tears. One can’t help envy both Shankman and male contestant. Both clearly express genuine emotion in knowing that they are doing exactly what they love to do.

Fact or crap: I am doing what I love to do?

Fact: I love young adult fiction.  I devour YA books. Many books move me to “near tears” if not a good cry.

Fact: Writing a book is not easy. It is something am struggling with, daily.

Crap: I know that writing a YA novel is exactly what I am meant to do.

Crap: I eat, sleep, and breathe writing.
I won’t lie. I am not constantly thinking about writing.  Most of my day is spent thinking about my two little boys and their needs.  However, when my boys are finally asleep and the house is quiet, I often think about my novel and the endless possibilities.  But I do not do this every night.

Fact: Whenever I see someone doing what they love, I am moved to tears. (Although something I often conceal, I always shed a few tears at the start of a musical, concert, or dance performance when I see it in person.  I am truly passionate about the arts. I love theater, dance, and music and often wish I had pursued a career in the performing arts.

Fact: Every single day I think about whether or not I am doing something I am passionate about, and if not, what am I passionate about?  What makes me tick?  How do I figure it out?  When will I figure it out?

Fact or Crap: You are doing what you are passionate about in life. 

If you answered Fact, I would love to hear how you discovered what you love and how you are living it today.

If you answered Crap, what are you doing to change your life and discover what makes you tick?

Jennifer Wagner is a full-time mom to two incredible little boys and wife of a Marine Corps. vet, as well as a writer and aspiring author of young adult and children’s fiction. She graduated from Mercyhurst University in 2004, with a Bachelor of Arts in English and concentrated in both professional and creative writing.  When Jennifer isn’t writing, she is playing Star Wars with her boys, baking chocolate goodies, or devouring young adult fiction.

5 comments on “Guest Post: My Writing Journey-Fact or Crap? by Jennifer

  1. Pingback: TGIF (24)-Unexpected Books | Kelsey's Cluttered Bookshelf

  2. Pingback: One Year Blogaversary-Guest Posts | Kelsey's Cluttered Bookshelf

  3. Great post! I feel like I’m doing what I want to in life, but it could be MORE! The smartest thing I did was leave a job that was completely dragging me down … I’m happier now and can’t imagine where I’d be had I stayed.

    Thanks for sharing Jennifer! :)

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

