Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Title: Divergent ( Divergent #1)

Author: Veronica Roth

Release Date/Publisher: May 3rd 2011 by Katherine Tegen Books

Read: January 13th, 2012

Pages: 487- eBook Version

Series: 

  1. Divergent
  2. Insurgent
  3. Allegiant

Synopsis:

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.
During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves… or it might destroy her.

Debut author Veronica Roth bursts onto the literary scene with the first book in the Divergent series—dystopian thrillers filled with electrifying decisions, heartbreaking betrayals, stunning consequences, and unexpected romance

What I thought:

I LOVED this book. There are just so many good things about it. the dystopian world that the author created was fun and unique, and I loved how different the factions were from each other but that they each had a specific role. At first I had trouble remembering which faction was which, but that’s just me. Dauntless is my favourite so far.

I liked how Tris just went for the other faction, how she managed to make some friends and how she became strong, even after everything that was happening around her. Her uniqueness, the Divergent part of her, was interesting too. The people are so categorized into their faction, that anyone deviating outside of it, or showing a trait that isn’t supposed to belong to them, is shown as dangerous and those people are usually killed. Tris needs to be extra careful because of it. Her romance with Four was very cute too, I was rooting for them the whole time.

I literally had trouble putting this book down, it was an awesome read for a debut author, and I am super excited for when the next book comes out!

I highly recommend it for dystopian fans, or anyone that wants to try something new.

SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

7 comments on “Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. LOL! We all have so many books that we are waiting for 😉 I have too many to list. I found out that one of the pitfalls to getting ARCs is that I have even LONGER to wait! I need to move this one up on my TBR list. BTW, I like your newish theme. I know you changed it a little while ago, but I kept forgetting to tell you.

    • I know, so many good books are coming out, and I’m already getting to the point where I need to finish others before new ones first.

      Thanks! I’m glad you like how it looks, I had fun changing it hehe.

  2. This is a good read-a-thon book, isn’t it? It’s so addicting and fast-paced. And yeah, Insurgent is probably my most highly anticipated book of the year. Dauntless is a cool faction- I think we learn more about Amity in the sequel.
    Glad you enjoyed it!

    • It was the perfect book for it! Insurgent is on the top of my lists now that I’ve read this one. I hope we do, Amity sounds cool too 🙂
      Thanks!

  3. I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed the book so much. I really love the cover and I’ve heard so many great things about the book…yep, it’s definitely going on my TBR list! I’m interested to see what you think of book 2 when it hits shelves at the beginning of May. 🙂

  4. Pingback: TGIF (3)-Recommend It « Kelsey's Cluttered Bookshelf

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

