Review: Starters by Lissa Price

Title: Starters (Starters and Enders #1)

Author: Lissa Price

Release Date/Publisher: March 13th, 2012 by Delacourte Books for Young Readers

Read:  January 24, 2012

Pages: 368-eBook-for review

Series: 

  1. Starters
  2. Enders

Synopsis:

Callie lost her parents when the Spore Wars wiped out everyone between the ages of twenty and sixty. She and her little brother, Tyler, go on the run, living as squatters with their friend Michael and fighting off renegades who would kill them for a cookie. Callie’s only hope is Prime Destinations, a disturbing place in Beverly Hills run by a mysterious figure known as the Old Man.

He hires teens to rent their bodies to Enders—seniors who want to be young again. Callie, desperate for the money that will keep her, Tyler, and Michael alive, agrees to be a donor. But the neurochip they place in Callie’s head malfunctions and she wakes up in the life of her renter, living in her mansion, driving her cars, and going out with a senator’s grandson. It feels almost like a fairy tale, until Callie discovers that her renter intends to do more than party—and that Prime Destinations’ plans are more evil than Callie could ever have imagined. . . .

What I thought:

I got this Advanced Readers Copy from NetGalley for my eReader. Thank you!

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book when I first started, but while reading I knew it was going to hook me into it. There’s mystery and action involved as Callie tries to figure out just what is going on with her and the Ender who inhabits her body, all while trying to survive and keep her brother safe. I loved the loyalty and caring that Callie showed to Tyler and Michael, and the cast of secondary characters she meets along the way. Sara was definitely my favourite, she made me want to cry.

What Callie’s Ender hopes to do, and what Prime is planning as the book goes along, were all surprises, and definitely get you involved with the story. I had a hard time putting this book down the more I read it. I won’t spoil any of the best parts here, it’s up to you to read it to find out.

The end of the book leaves you on a cliffhanger, with some things coming to an end, but more questions popping up about what’s going to happen next. I highly recommend picking up this book and giving it a try. I know I will be eagerly awaiting the next installment, which according to my book comes out Winter 2012. Yay!

SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

One comment on “Review: Starters by Lissa Price

  1. Pingback: TGIF (4)-Buy or Borrow « Kelsey's Cluttered Bookshelf

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

