TGIF (12)-Reading Blues

TGIF is a weekly feature every Friday hosted by Ginger at GReads, to re-cap the week’s posts, and answer a question of the week. Feel free to join!

This Week’s question: Reading Blues: We all get them from time to time. What helps you overcome those reading slumps when nothing seems to grab your attention?

If I find that I can’t get into any books or I’m in a slump, the best method for me is to take a break from reading altogether, usually for a few days or so. In the mean time I usually play video games, or concentrate on something else that’s fun.

Then when I feel like I want to read again I go for it, choosing a book that I’ve wanted to really read, something that will grab my attention, no matter what other books I had scheduled or planned to read next. I think just giving your brain a vacation from it all helps, while distracting it with other fun things for a while.

Reviews:

Riven by Carol Anne Biddle
Everneath by Brodi Ashton

This Week’s Posts:

On My Wishlist (21)
In My Mailbox (21)
Bout of Books 4.0-Sign Up & News
WWW Wednesdays (5)

3 comments on “TGIF (12)-Reading Blues

  1. Great advice! I’ve been on a loooong break, but it feels great. I do have some books that I want to read to get me back on track with at least reading something, though, which is good. 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

