TGIF (16)-Show Me Your Cover

TGIF is a weekly feature every Friday hosted by Ginger at GReads, to re-cap the week’s posts, and answer a question of the week. Feel free to join!

This Week’s question: Show Me Your Cover: What are some of the worst book covers, but hold some of the best stories inside? Don’t be embarrassed, show us your cover!

Well, I can definitely think of books that have awesome covers, but have some not so good stories inside. But I don’t think I’ve read too many that go the other way, unless you count the covers that the library puts on their borrowed eBooks, which is just plain text most of the time. Most of the books I read, I tend to be attracted to the covers…I’m trying to get around that though!

So, since I don’t have any horribly bad covers, I’m going to have to go with one that I don’t like too much, but I loved the story.

Starters by Lissa Price

I don’t know why, but there’s just something about this cover that I don’t like, I think the the girl just looks creepy and all the white in it makes it hard for me to like it. Yet the story inside was really good!!

Reviews:

Dearly, Departed by Lia Habel
Graceling by Kristin Cashore

This Week’s Posts:

WWW Wednesdays (9)
From the Review Pile (3)
Bout of Books Wrap-Up
Bout of Books 4 Giveaway (closed)
Bout of Books Day 5 Mini-Challenge

6 comments on “TGIF (16)-Show Me Your Cover

  1. I REALLY disliked this cover before I read the book! I loved the book and while I still don’t love the cover, I did appreciate it a little more after having read it. 🙂

    • Definitely, the story was good but I still don’t like this cover lol. I’m hoping the next book cover is a little bit less creepy to me.

  2. haha i am glad i am not the only one. this cover just freaks me out. its one of those that i would take the dust jacket off and turn it upside down so she isn’t staring at me. I haven’t read this, but i will check it out and see what i think. thank you for stopping by my blog
    liz

  3. i agree about the starters cover. for some reason, it screams “self-published” to me. But my blogmate and one of my other blogger friends both read it & loved it, so I will reserve judgment!

  4. I think with this cover, the reactions were either you really liked it, or you really didn’t. I now a lot who were on either side of the spectrum. Personally, I love the creepiness of it, especially in real life with all the shine and near-holographics. I admit that I haven’t read it yet, but I’m glad you liked the story!

    Thanks for stopping by my post 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

