Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Title: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1)

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Release Date: December 2nd, 2010

Published by: Penguin Group (USA)

Read: June 9th, 2012

Pages: 264-eBook-Library

Series:

  1. Anna and the French Kiss
  2. Lola and the Boy Next Door
  3. Isla and the Happily Ever After

Synopsis:

Anna was looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. So she’s less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris—until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all . . . including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss? Stephanie Perkins keeps the romantic tension crackling and the attraction high in a debut guaranteed to make toes tingle and hearts melt.

What I thought:

One thing I have to say about this book first, is it was the perfect thing I needed right now. It had me smiling and laughing the whole time. I actually had to stop reading it on the bus because people were giving me weird looks.

Anna gets sent to Paris for her final year of high school by her dad, who is a cheesy novel writer and thinks this is the perfect thing for her. Upon arriving she’s feeling alone, abandoned by her family, but then her neighbor Meredith welcomes her right away. She starts to make friends thanks to her; Josh and his girl Rashim, and the gorgeous Étienne.

She already starts to fall for him a bit, but he of course has a girlfriend, who is at college now. As the school year goes on, she tours the city of Paris, becomes best friends with Étienne, and continues with her love of the cinema. Then of course the drama begins. Her best friend has been hiding something from her, she has confused emotions about how she feels for Étienne especially since he already has someone, and there are other students spreading rumours about her.

This is one book I was not expecting to be so good, it just had me engaged the whole time. I loved Anna, and I could feel what she was going through the whole time because it was written so well. There were a few moments where I even wanted to cry with her.

This is the perfect contemporary and romance book, and I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to read something of those genres, and anyone who wants to try something new and fun.

SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

10 comments on “Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Isn’t it fun reading in public places? I’ve laughed out loud reading books before … seriously, sometimes you just gotta play the crazy part. 🙂

    This book was so awesome!! I was smiling the whole time I was reading it, too. I heard that Stephanie Perkins wrote it during NaNoWriMo, which is pretty amazing. Now you’re going to have to read Lola and the Boy Next Door so we can both sit on pins and needles for the next one … I can’t wait for Isla and the Happily Ever After!

    • Reading in public places is fun for sure! I’ll definitely have to keep reading on the bus from now on even if I get looks, it was so hard to put this book down last time! I’m glad you enjoyed it so much too!That’s crazy that she wrote it during that. I definitely have to read Lola next, then the wait for Isla will start!

  2. So glad you loved ANNA. I’m actually listening to the audio now (again) because it’s such a perfect feel good book. Hope you like LOLA just as well.

  3. I wasn’t expecting to love this one as much as I did either. With the title & cover it screamed super eye rolling cheesiness but it’s so not!! 😀 Great review!

    • Thank you! It was definitely an awesome book, I didn’t have high expectations for it at first since I’m just getting into contemporary, but after the first chapters I was hooked 🙂

  4. Pingback: TGIF (19)-Authors Are Our Celebrities | Kelsey's Cluttered Bookshelf

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.