TGIF (21)-Comfort Reads

TGIF is a weekly feature every Friday hosted by Ginger at GReads, to re-cap the week’s posts, and answer a question of the week. Feel free to join!

This Week’s question: Comfort Reads: Which books do you go to for comfort & familiarity?  Is there a type of book you seek out when you’re needing that extra bit of comfort in your life?

Hmm, I haven’t thought about books that comfort me before. Well, there are some new books that I read recently that would probably work, like Anna and the French Kiss, but I think the thing that would work the most is a series that I haven’t read in years.

Way before I started blogging, I used to love Manga and Anime, I used to collect the books to certain series that I loved. I am technically collecting Sailor Moon now, but that’s it, I don’t even watch anime anymore.

There was one series that I loved beyond all others, and my uncle actually had a hand in bringing it over from Japan when he was working with a TV company years ago. It’s Cardcaptor Sakura (just Cardcaptors in America).

The books are the best for this, I wasn’t fond of the TV show as much. It’s just full of cuteness and magic and I love the art style. I used to read them constantly and it always made me happy just to curl up with one of those books and chill. I think that even now I would turn to those if I needed something to calm me. I may even go and read them for fun soon actually!

Reviews:

Waiting for Daybreak by Amanda McNeil
Spectral by Shannon Duffy

This Week’s Posts:

Showcase Sunday (6)
WWW Wednesdays (15)
From the Review Pile (9)
2012 Reading Challenges-Half Done
RAK June Wrap-up

What are your comfort reads?

6 comments on “TGIF (21)-Comfort Reads

  1. I should have added my all-time-favorite-manga, too! Damn, why didn’t I think of it? I’m horrible. Aaargh! 😀 Anyway, I really enjoyed Card Captor Sakura, too, when I was younger. (BTW, if you haven’t already, check out Fruits Basket by Natsuki Takaya!)

    Patricia // My Hop

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

