Review: Hana by Lauren Oliver-a Short Story

Title: Hana (Delirium #1.5)

Author: Lauren Oliver

Release Date:  February 28th, 2012

Published by: HarperCollins Publishers

Read: June 22nd, 2012

Pages: 64-eBook

Series: 

  1. Delirium
  2. Pandemonium
  3. Requiem

Synopsis:

Lauren Oliver’s riveting, original digital story set in the world of her New York Times bestseller Delirium.

The summer before they’re supposed to be cured of the ability to love, best friends Lena and Hana begin to drift apart. While Lena shies away from underground music and parties with boys, Hana jumps at her last chance to experience the forbidden. For her, the summer is full of wild music, dancing—and even her first kiss.

But on the surface, Hana must be a model of perfect behavior. She meets her approved match, Fred Hargrove, and glimpses the safe, comfortable life she’ll have with him once they marry. As the date for her cure draws ever closer, Hana desperately misses Lena, wonders how it feels to truly be in love, and is simultaneously terrified of rebelling and of falling into line.

In this digital story that will appeal to fans of Delirium and welcome new admirers to its world, readers will come to understand scenes from Delirium through Hana’s perspective. Hana is a touching and revealing look at a life-changing and tumultuous summer.

What I thought:

This short story is set during the time when Lena and Hana aren’t talking to each other, shortly after Lena goes to her first party. It tells Hana’s view of things during that period of time. Since it is short, I won’t say too much about it, but Hana definitely has more worries in her life than I would have thought.

Hana is matched with Fred, an already cured boy whose family is very big in the city. Fred had a wife before, but there’s no saying what happened to her, which does worry Hana a bit. She feels so closed in and just wants to stretch out from her “perfect” life, and what everyone expects of her, especially her family. Which is another reason she goes to these parties held in secret at night. They let her feel free and she can experience something different and exhilarating before she gets cured.

I would suggest reading this after reading Delirium, or else you’ll probably be pretty lost as to what’s going on. Definitely the prefect things for me to read just before Pandemonium, since it’s been a while for the first book.

I liked this book, but am giving it a three, it didn’t blow me away but was a nice short read. Recommended for fans of the series, and anyone wanting to read a Dystopian book.

SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

6 comments on “Review: Hana by Lauren Oliver-a Short Story

  1. I definitely agree! I like it as an additional little story (I read between Delirium and Pandemonium as well), but I still felt like it was missing a little something. I would have liked to know just a bit more.

  2. I always wonder if I should read the short stories first so guess not with this one. Yep, I still have to read Delirium! *gasp* O_O

    • It’s really good, go read it! I kept putting it off after I bought it, so I can understand that.
      Yes, definitely read this story after or it might ruin a few things.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

