Review: Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

Title: Pandemonium (Delirium #2)

Author: Lauren Oliver

Release Date:  February 28th, 2012

Published by: HarperCollins Publishers

Read: June 27th, 2012

Pages: 248-eBook

Series: 

  1. Delirium
  2. Pandemonium
  3. Requiem

Synopsis:

I’m pushing aside
the memory of my nightmare,
pushing aside thoughts of Alex,
pushing aside thoughts of Hana
and my old school,
push,
push,
push,
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.

Lauren Oliver delivers an electrifying follow-up to her acclaimed New York Times bestseller, ‘ Delirium.’ This riveting, brilliant novel crackles with the fire of fierce defiance, forbidden romance, and the sparks of a revolution about to ignite.

What I thought:

When I first started this book, I was a bit confused. The chapters are increments of “now” and “then”. Then being just after she escaped at the end of the first book, and Now which tells of her living as a hidden Invalid in society. After a few chapters though, you catch on quickly, and I started to really like that format for telling the story.

I found that at the end of most of the chapters there would be almost mini-cliffhangers, then it would go to the other type of chapter instead of continue. It was a great way to get me hooked with what was currently happening and what happened before to get Lena in the current position.

For the Then, we find out how she survives in the Wilds, who she meets and how she starts to change. To become stronger, both physically and mentally, and deal with the fact that Alex is presumed dead and she will never see him again. It’s hard for her, but she has to do it.

The Now scenes, she is living in another city, pretending to be a regular student, who’s involved with the DFA (delirium free America) while she helps her group keep an eye on things. During a rally, there is an attack, and she gets kidnapped and locked in a room with Julian (who you will learn about in the book), and she doesn’t know how they will escape. But something else seems to be bothering her, and there are too many coincidences for her not to worry.

I really did enjoy this book, the first one was still my favourite, but this one did not disappoint. I’m really excited to see what happens in the next one, especially after that ending! I wasn’t expecting that last part at all.

Recommended for Dystopian fans!

SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

10 comments on “Review: Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

  1. That’s pretty much how I felt about it too 🙂 I still like Delirium more, but this one was enjoyable in a different way for me. And how about that ending!?

    • I hope you do, it’s a good series!
      Thank you for the award 🙂 I haven’t decided yet if I want to accept them and continue with the tradition of the posts, but I appreciate it!

  2. This was an AWESOME book! And you’re right — every chapter was a cliffhanger! I couldn’t stand it. And the ENDING! I can’t wait for Requiem to come out — it’s going to be EPIC!

  3. Great, well-written article! I’ll definitely check this book out, especially since the cover looks so interesting. (Yup, the age old ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’ thing falls on deaf ears) Very nice blog layout, by the way, it’s beautiful! 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

