Waiting for Daybreak Blog Tour! Interview, Giveaway and More!

I am very happy to be hosting this day of the blog tour! I was approached by Amanda not too long and asked if I was interested, and I just loved being given this opportunity. She has been very nice to talk to, and I definitely recommend that you give this new author a chance!

Review:

Click on the image of the cover to head over to my review of her book, and show some support!

Interview:

Hi Amanda! How are you enjoying the blog tour so far?
Hi Kelsey, thanks for having me!  I’m really enjoying the tour so far.  All of the participating bloggers have been so nice and creative in helping me get the word out there about Waiting For Daybreak.

That’s great. I noticed that you’re also a book blogger as well! What got you into creating a blog and writing reviews?
Well, I read a piece of advice from an author, I believe it was Stephen King, who said you should read or write for 8 or 9 hours a day.  I was reading so much, I wanted a record of what I’d read and learned from reading various books.  So I started the book blogging as a way to help me process what made me like or dislike a book in the hopes that it would help me improve my own writing.  I had no idea there was such a world of book blogging, and I’m really glad I got introduced to it.  My blog also periodically features posts about my career as a medical librarian and of course my own writing.

What has inspired you to start writing, has it always been a dream of yours?
I always intended to be a writer.  I used to write and illustrate my own books as a child then force them upon my family to read.  When I discovered the world of self-publishing, it seemed like such a natural, perfect fit for me.

I bet your family loved those books! What advice would you give to other bloggers who want to try out creating a book of their own?
As I tell everyone who wants to write, you don’t become a writer, you are a writer.  The hardest thing for anyone to overcome in the process is procrastination, so just do it.  Figure out a method that will work for you to get yourself to actually sit down and get your story out on paper.

Book bloggers in particular have the advantage of having a better understanding of publishing and marketing of books, so don’t be afraid to use that knowledge and those connections to help you out.

Do you have plans for more books in the future?
Yes! I am aiming for at least one book coming out a year.  I’ve already started on the next one, which is about what happens when the dark gods from Lovecraft fame take over the east coast.  I’m excited about that one, because it will be my first time writing from multiple perspectives.

After that comes out, I will be writing a sequel to Waiting For Daybreak.  It will be about Frieda’s next step now that she’s learned how to be alone and has mostly conquered her depression.  I’d write it right away, but the poor dark gods already had to be put aside while I was editing and working on the marketing for Waiting For Daybreak, and they are demanding that their story gets told.

One book a year is a great goal, I can’t wait to see them. Thank you again and enjoy the rest of the tour!

About the Author:

Amanda is an energetic, masters degree educated, 20-something happily living in an attic apartment in Boston with her shelter-adopted cat. She writes scifi, horror, urban fantasy, literary fiction, and paranormal romance. She has previously published short stories and a novella.

Amazon, Author’s Blog, Author’s Twitter, GoodReads, LibraryThing, Pinterest

Giveaway:

  • Please fill it out as completely as you can
  • This will be open from the 25th to 31st at Midnight (EST).
  • It is international, for anyone that has an eReader or the ability to read eBooks. If you are unsure, let me know.
  • Must be over 13 years of age.
  • ONE entry per person, double entries will be deleted.
  • More details on my Contest Policy

Giveaway is over, the sinner is Sam Kasbrick! Will be emailing you soon.

Tour Schedule:

July
13—
Earth’s Book Nook    guest post and giveaway
14–The Chronicles of an Enamored Soul    review and giveaway
15–Tabula Rasa    review and giveaway
18–Nicki J. Markus    interview and giveaway
22–From Me To You…    interview and review
23–The Paperback Pursuer    review
25–Kelsey’s Cluttered Bookshelf    interview and giveaway
26–Bookishly Me    interview
27–Fangs for the Fantasy    review and giveaway
30–Gizmo’s Book Reviews    interview

August
1–Unabridged Andra    review, interview, and giveaway
2–Cynthia Shepp    guest post
3–Pocketful of Books    guest post
4–NovelOpinion    interview
5–The Book Blurb    interview
6–Ellie Hall    guest post
Eva’s Sanctuary    review and interview
7–Kindle Fever    interview and giveaway
10–Lily Element    review
11–Wickedly Bookish    interview and giveaway
13–Ellie Hall and cross-posted to 1889 Labs    review
14–Blood, Sweat, and Books    review and interview
15–The Book Hoard    review and giveaway
16–Persephone’s Winged Reviews    review
17–Offbeat Vagabond    review, interview, and giveaway
18–Mervi’s Book Reviews    review
20–Paperless Reading    review
21–An Eclectic Bookshelf    review and interview
22–Book Stacks On Deck    review and giveaway
28–Pure Textuality    review, interview, and giveaway
29–Just a Lil’ Lost…    review
Reflections of a Book Addict    interview and giveaway
30–Obsessions of a LibraryGurl    review and interview
Reflections of a Book Addict    review
31–Opinions of a Wolf    author’s wrap-up!

3 comments on “Waiting for Daybreak Blog Tour! Interview, Giveaway and More!

  1. Pingback: Waiting For Daybreak Blog Tour Schedule « Opinions of a Wolf

  2. Pingback: TGIF (22)-Christmas In July | Kelsey's Cluttered Bookshelf

  3. Pingback: Friday Fun! (In Which I Take Back Up Counted Cross-Stitching and Blog Tour Updates) « Opinions of a Wolf

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

