Guest Post:Books in Music | Music in Books by Kristilyn

Books in Music | Music in Books

Written by Kristilyn @ Reading In Winter

When Kelsey asked me to do a guest post on her blog for her blogiversary, I was excited! And then I was panicked – what should I do a guest post on? I went into the deepest depths of my brain and scrambled for an idea and just couldn’t come up with anything. Then I realized that the idea was right there in front of me!

I’m a musician. I adore all kinds of music and usually have my favourite songs blasting on my iPod whenever I can (much to the chagrin of the neighbours). But I also love books! Whenever I come across a song that has something to do with books, I get happy because then my two loves are combined. And vice versa – whenever I come across a book that has music in it, I’m over the moon!

So here are some of my favourite songs about books, and some of my favourite books with songs. Enjoy!

Books in Music

Owen Pallett – Library

“I will burn my every book to warm your cold cold heart”

Emily Haines – Reading In Bed

“Sing from a book you’re reading in bed and took to heart, all your lives unled, reading in bed”

Sarah Slean – Me & Jerome (a song about J. D. Salinger)

“for lunch we split a book and a banana pie”

Music in Books

Chopsticks, by Jessica Anthony & Rodrigo Corrall

Quote:
“Love is wild and when it is cut returns again, stronger whether you want it to or not.” 

Synopsis:
After her mother died, Glory retreated into herself and her music. Her single father raised her as a piano prodigy, with a rigid schedule and the goal of playing sold-out shows across the globe. Now, as a teenager, Glory has disappeared. As we flash back to the events leading up to her disappearance, we see a girl on the precipice of disaster. Brilliant and lonely, Glory is drawn to an artistic new boy, Frank, who moves in next door. The farther she falls, the deeper she spirals into madness. Before long, Glory is unable to play anything but the song “Chopsticks.”

But nothing is what it seems, and Glory’s reality is not reality at all. In this stunningly moving novel told in photographs, pictures, and words, it’s up to the reader to decide what is real, what is imagined, and what has been madness all along…

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, by Morgan Matson

Quote:
“I think there are lots of things still to be discovered. You just have to be paying attention.” 

Synopsis:
Amy Curry thinks her life sucks. Her mom decides to move from California to Connecticut to start anew–just in time for Amy’s senior year. Her dad recently died in a car accident. So Amy embarks on a road trip to escape from it all, driving cross-country from the home she’s always known toward her new life. Joining Amy on the road trip is Roger, the son of Amy’s mother’s old friend. Amy hasn’t seen him in years, and she is less than thrilled to be driving across the country with a guy she barely knows. So she’s surprised to find that she is developing a crush on him. At the same time, she’s coming to terms with her father’s death and how to put her own life back together after the accident. Told in traditional narrative as well as scraps from the road–diner napkins, motel receipts, postcards–this is the story of one girl’s journey to find herself.

If I Stay, by Gail Forman

Quote:
“Love, it never dies. It never goes away, it never fades, so long as you hang on to it. Love can make you immortal.” 

Synopsis:
Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel. I open my eyes wide now. I sit up as much as I can. And I listen. Stay, he says.

Everybody has to make choices. Some might break you. For seventeen-year-old Mia, surrounded by a wonderful family, friends and a gorgeous boyfriend decisions might seem tough, but they’re all about a future full of music and love, a future that’s brimming with hope.

But life can change in an instant.

A cold February morning …a snowy road …and suddenly all of Mia’s choices are gone. Except one. As alone as she’ll ever be, Mia must make the most difficult choice of all.

Gripping, heartrending and ultimately life-affirming, If I Stay will make you appreciate all that you have, all that you’ve lost – and all that might be.

What are some of your favourite books with music? Or, what are some of your favourite songs with books?

5 comments on “Guest Post:Books in Music | Music in Books by Kristilyn

  1. Pingback: One Year Blogaversary-Guest Posts | Kelsey's Cluttered Bookshelf

  2. Pingback: TGIF (24)-Unexpected Books | Kelsey's Cluttered Bookshelf

  3. Pingback: Clock Rewinders (1) | Reading In Winter

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

