Review: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

falling kingdoms

Title: Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1)

Author: Morgan Rhodes

Release Date/Publisher: December 11th 2012 by Razorbill

Finished: February 12th 2013

Pages: 412-Hardcover-owned

Series:

  1. Falling Kingdoms
  2. Rebel Spring
  3. Gathering Darkness
  4. Untitled

Synopsis:

In a land where magic has been forgotten but peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest is simmering. Three kingdoms grapple for power—brutally transforming their subjects’ lives in the process. Amidst betrayals, bargains, and battles, four young people find their fates forever intertwined:

Cleo: A princess raised in luxury must embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of a magic long thought extinct.

Jonas: Enraged at injustice, a rebel lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country impoverished—and finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Lucia: A girl adopted at birth into a royal family discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Magnus: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, a firstborn son begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword. . . .

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

What I thought:

Have you been looking for a good fantasy book, with some budding romance, politics, tragedy and a hint of magic? This book will definitely fit all of those. I was really wanting to read this book after hearing good things about it, especially since I love fantasy type books.

When I started reading this, the part about the magic leaving the land sounded familiar to other books I’ve read, so I wasn’t sure what I was going to think. But so much of this book focuses on the characters and how they are connected which I ended up loving, with the magic being about only one certain character for most of the book. This was a nice split, it wasn’t overpowering but it did have a prophecy and hints of more magic to come in future books, which I’m excited for! I also loved the kingdoms, how simple and not confusing they were, and of course the brief history of the place (there’s no long descriptive paragraphs, so bonus!)

The four main characters each have their own strengths and weaknesses, and some you will like more than others. Each of them have their own sad and tragic events too. At one point in the book everything seems to be going right for one person and their new love, them BAM next thing you know all that happy feeling-stuff is ripped away from them forever and they’re left in grief. I liked how this was done though, not all happy endings and rainbows, but real hardships that they have to work through. Cleo was probably my favourite for a good portion of the book, as well as her companions that help her along.

I really liked this book, and I’m excited for whenever the next one is due to come out! I want to see where this series goes and I hope you check it out!

SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

3 comments on “Review: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

  1. Fabulous review, I’m so glad you liked this one! I’ve been wanting to read it since I first heard about it and now I’m even more eager to get my hands on it 😀 I love how you mentioned the character development and I do love politics & romance mixed in there! Thanks for sharing!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

