Let’s Talk!-3/1/13

Lets-Talk

Welcome to the Let’s Talk weekly discussion meme!

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

Q: Do you need romance in your books to read them? If not, what else “hooks” you?

A: Romance is nice to have, but I don’t “need” it to enjoy a book. There are definitely some books where it’s the main focus and I couldn’t stop reading (Anna and the French Kiss). Sometimes though the romance can be too much or annoying (teen girl falling in love/lust with guy at first sight) which is quite common.

The main thing that gets me loving a book are the characters. If the characters are awesome and written well I’ll definitely want to read that book, especially if I can relate to them. Of course if there’s an awesome fantasy adventure or paranormal adventure I’ll love that too!

What hooks you to a book?

5 comments on “Let’s Talk!-3/1/13

  1. I love having romance in my books, but I guess I don’t NEED it. I like to think I’m like you and prefer awesome characters to romance, but if I get both, then it’s a great big pile of awesome!

  2. I don’t mind romance in my books and certainly some times I am in the mood for some but I definitely do not ‘need’ it in order to love a story. Sometimes it’s a nice change to read a story without romance and focus more on character development and plot. GREAT discussion by the way,thanks for the insight 🙂

  3. Romance is nice but it’s not why I want to read books. Depends on my mood, sometimes I like action-packed plot-driven type of books and at other times, I just want to connect with a good cast of characters. Loved this topic – thanks, Kelsey!

  4. I love romance, but it’s the characters that get me. If the characters are well written and I can relate to them I don’t car if the connection between them is family, friend or lover… as long as they make me feel something. 🙂 Glad you joined the fun this week Kelsey!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

