Review: Dark Tide by Elizabeth Haynes

dark tide

Title: Dark Tide

Author: Elizabeth Haynes

Release Date/Publisher: March 12th 2013 by Harper Paperbacks

Finished: February 17th 2013

Pages: 400-paperback-ARC given for review

Synopsis:

The first time Genevieve saw it, she knew it was the one: Revenge of the Tide, “an odd sort of a name for a boat.” Genevieve had finally escaped the stressful demands of her London sales job and achieved her dream–to leave the city behind and start a new life aboard a houseboat in Kent. She left the boat’s name as it was. Revenge had character after all, and living in a marina made her feel a bit safer, a little less lonely; almost as if the boat looked after her, hid her away from view.

But her dreams are shattered the night of her boat-warming party when a body washes up, and to Genevieve’s horror, she recognizes the victim as a close friend from nights dancing on-stage at a private members’ club, the Barclay. She isn’t about to tell the police, though; next to no one knew what Genevieve did every Friday and Saturday night to save money for her escape, and she sees no reason to reveal her past. The death can’t have anything to do with her. Or so she thinks.

Soon the lull of the waves against Revenge feels anything but soothing, as Genevieve begins to receive mysterious calls and can’t reach the one person who links the present danger with her history at the club. And then there is the parcel on her boat she’s meant to be safekeeping for an old flame, which seems to be putting her in jeopardy. As Genevieve begins to fear for her safety, she recalls the moment when it had all started to go horribly wrong: the night she recognized her day-time boss in the crowd of customers at the Barclay. . . .

What I thought:

This is a mystery suspense/thriller, and although not my normal type of read I really wanted to see what happens. However, it had its ups and downs. I did like the story, the fact that she was living on a boat and fixing it up was cool. There were flashbacks to her past and how she got to be where she was and why too. In her past life, she was an office worker during the day, and a pole dancer at night and she has a certain dream to fulfill which is why she needs the extra money.

The thing that brought it down the most was the pacing and lack of suspense. I found it very slow and while I was reading it I kept waiting for it to pick up and for something intense to happen. There was a murder and another act of violence, but I just felt like I was coasting through the book waiting and I wanted so much more from it. The main character seems a bit lifeless though most of the book too. The only other mysteries I’ve read are all fast paced but that was what I was expecting with this book and it didn’t seem to happen, I kind felt bored at some points as I read. In all honesty it was kind of boring.

This book might be a little older for some teens. As far as I remember I don’t think they mention the age of the protagonist,  but I suspect she’s an adult, and there are slight mentions of drugs,alcohol, sex and of course dancing in a gentlemen’s club. If you want to read a mystery that has a more calm pace check this book out. This book wasn’t for me, I felt it could have been way better, but this was an ARC copy so the final publication might change.

SinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

