Review: Poison by Bridget Zinn

poison

Title: Poison

AuthorBridget Zinn

Release Date/Publisher: March 12th 2013 by Disney Hyperion

Finished: February 18th 2013

Pages: 288-Paperback-ARC given for review

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Kyra, a highly-skilled potions master, is the only one who knows her kingdom is on the verge of destruction—which means she’s the only one who can save it. Faced with no other choice, Kyra decides to do what she does best: poison the kingdom’s future ruler, who also happens to be her former best friend.

But, for the first time ever, her poisoned dart . . . misses.

Now a fugitive instead of a hero, Kyra is caught in a game of hide-and-seek with the king’s army and her potioner ex-boyfriend, Hal. At least she’s not alone. She’s armed with her vital potions, a too-cute pig, and Fred, the charming adventurer she can’t stop thinking about. Kyra is determined to get herself a second chance (at murder), but will she be able to find and defeat the princess before Hal and the army find her?

Kyra is not your typical murderer, and she’s certainly no damsel-in-distress—she’s the lovable and quick-witted hero of this romantic novel that has all the right ingredients to make teen girls swoon.

What I thought:

This book was such a cute fantasy! It’s not really long (stand-alone book), doesn’t have tons of characters to remember and you don’t have a whole map of the land to memorize. I like those things most of the time, but once in a while it’s nice to have an easy read while still having it a fantasy.

The added element of potions and poisons and a bit of witchy magic later on really got me loving this book. I was worried that the length wouldn’t be enough but I actually got absorbed shortly after I started reading. Kyra is such an interesting character, a master of potions, who tried to kill her old best friend and is now on the run. Why she felt she had to do that though, you will see as you read but it’s for a good reason. The little pig Rosie that joins the journey later is so cute and she’s actually on the cover too! Fred brought the comedy during this and his interactions with Kyra were awesome and of course funny.

This book was very fun to read and a nice fantasy novel that I think others would definitely like, especially anyone being introduced to this genre. Some have mentioned that it tends to feel more like middle grade, but take what you will from it, I still enjoyed it a lot.

SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

5 comments on “Review: Poison by Bridget Zinn

  1. This was just ok for me. I think I gave it a three. I felt it really should have been geared towards a younger crowd, middle grade rather than YA.

  2. I liked how you mentioned it was short,because sometimes you just want a shorter read you know?! And I loved the bit where you said the length didn’t matter because you became absorbed in the story quickly -YES! Considering how much I love fantasy reads I think I’ll be all set with Poison 🙂 Sweet review Kelsey!!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

