Let’s Talk!-3/15/13

Lets-Talk

Welcome to the Let’s Talk weekly discussion meme!

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

Q: Do you rate a book differently based on the genre? Are there certain genres that you hold at a higher standard? Are there books that will gain an automatic “pass” or overlook of issues just because you love the genre/ type of world? If you don’t rate books, you can answer the questions based on your review criteria.

A: I tend to always try and rate books equally. I read certain genres like fantasy or paranormal more often, but they don’t always get the highest rating. It really just depends on how much I actually enjoyed the book while reading, and I always take notes so when I do the review and figure out the rating I can see what I liked and didn’t.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

5 comments on “Let’s Talk!-3/15/13

  1. I like rating based on enjoyment, too … it’s so hard to say if a book is good or not, since it’s so subjective. But if I can’t tear myself away from a story, that’s a sign that I’m really enjoying it!

    Love the new blog design, by the way! 🙂

  2. I think I rate by my overall enjoyment of the book too, regardless of the genre. If it was well-written, enjoyable & well plotted I’m satisfied whatever the genre.

    Oh and I love the blog redesign, the colours look great together & of course I love the kitty ♥ especially next to a stack of books!

    • Exactly, it can be something we’ve never tried reading before but as long as it keeps out attention and we have fun then that’s what counts 🙂

      Thank you! I love this new design too, it suits me well I think 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

