Book Blogger Confessions-March 18th 2013

bloggerconfessions

Book Blogger Confessions (hosted by For What It’s Worth) is a meme that posts the 1st and 3rd Monday of every month, where book bloggers “confess” and vent about blogging/bookish topics. Feel free to share, vent and offer solutions.

Just keep it respectful – no bashing authors or other bloggers!

Question: 

What is important in design for the blogs you follow? What features/elements do you appreciate? What are big turn off’s?

Answer:

The thing I like the most is a blog that’s easy to navigate. I really don’t like it when blogs have tons of stuff on their sidebars that go on forever. Any kind of organization (tabs at the top for sure) will win me over when I visit a blog. Add buttons/icons for following and a search bar and I will love it.

There are so many colours and designs for blogs out there that are mixed with each personality, but as long as it’s not insanely bright and burns my eyes I’m good. I also find it hard to read white text over a dark background and those are impossible to follow in any RSS feed.

Another few things I really don’t like are music auto-playing, things following you as you scroll on the blog or pop-ups asking for you to follow. I just think that if I like the blog of course I’m going to follow, it feels like they’re being too persistent and I usually leave the page fast.

What do you like to see in a blog?

9 comments on “Book Blogger Confessions-March 18th 2013

  1. I like how you worded that – “too persistent” I completely agree with that. I love relaxing blogs that make me want to look around and stay for a while 🙂

  2. I agree with the ease of the blog, easy to follow, to navigate, etc. It just makes sense. And wow! I have to say I love that you have a schedule. I could never do that!!! I’ve never come across a pop up asking me to follow. I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled.

  3. I totally agree about the brightness! Thats a pretty big turnoff for me, and I love a search bar!! I really love sidebars but I don’t like when they have no rhyme or reason to the stuff in them. Great post Kelsey, I completely agree with most of your points 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

