Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

cinder

Title: Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1)

Author: Marissa Meyer

Release Date/Publisher: January 3rd 2012 by Feiwel & Friends

Finished: February 27th 2013

Pages: 387-Hardcover-owned

Series:

1. Cinder
2. Scarlet
3. Cress
3.5. Fairest
4. Winter

Synopsis:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

What I thought:

This was one of those book where I was wondering if the hype was too much and I wouldn’t really like it, but I was wrong! Such a great mix of different story elements had me as soon as I started the book.

There was so much awesome going on that I had a hard time figuring out what I loved the most. The cyborg/android stuff was the best, I liked that the main character was one and of course all the futuristic technology that they had. The added fairy-tale of Cinderella was great and actually mixed in really well with the rest of the story. And of course the Lunars from the moon add a little bit more to the sci-fi theme.

The characters were good too, I didn’t dislike or have any issues with the main ones. Cinder was fun to read about, with all the things she goes through with her adoptive family, to her closeness to human and robot alike.  I kept rooting for Cinder and hoping things would get better for her, since she was a Cyborg and they’re not considered on the same level as normal people. Kai was a great prince figure too, and I liked that he interacted with Cinder more as the book went on.

I highly recommend this book to everyone! Make sure you have the next book handy though, after the ending of this one you’ll want to go right into it!

SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

12 comments on “Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. Yeah, I was worried about the hype surrounding this one too, thinking there was no way I could like it as much as people swore I would, but this book is awesome!

  2. I have been dying to get to this book—-there are so many stinkin books I want to read that I keep forgetting about all of them–and I don’t have the time to make a list, LOL! I’m glad you enjoyed it—I’ve only ever heard amazing things–and the cover!! Whoever designed it had an eye for intrigue! 🙂

  3. I’m not sure why I haven’t read this one yet, but it looks awesome! And I bought the second one already … can’t wait to read it now! I love seeing all the positive reviews!

  4. YAYYYY I’m so glad you loved it!! I was surprised how much I loved it too because it sounded way too sci-fi for me… But I was totally wrong!
    ALSO – I hope I’m not super late with this, but I haven’t seen your blog since the redesign and OOOOOOH it looks wonderful!!! 🙂

    • I’m not the biggest sci-fi reader either but this was really good, you’re right!
      Thank you! I’m glad you like it, I love my new design 🙂

  5. I’m glad you liked this! I loved this one! It was a great adaptation to Cinderella and I loved how there were different elements. I figured out the reveal from the first quarter of the book but that didn’t disappoint me too much. I haven’t read Scarlet yet but it’s sitting on my shelf so I will definitely get to it soon!

    Miss J @ Miss Book Reviews

  6. So glad you loved this one! I was skeptical going into it, but I’m a hardcore fan of the series now. I think I even liked Scarlet MORE than Cinder. Yeah. 🙂

  7. Yay! I was really curious to see if you’d like this one. I still haven’t read my copy myself but it’s one of the next ones I’m planning to read! Glad to hear that it lived up to the hype for you AND that there was so much awesome all around 😀 I just may have to wait though till I can snag a copy of Scarlet, that ending sounds painful LOL. Fab review Kelsey ♥

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

