Review: Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill

meant to be

Title: Meant to Be

Author: Lauren Morrill

Release Date/Publisher: November 13th 2012 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Finished: March 18th 2013

Pages: 256-eBook-Library

Synopsis:

Meant to be or not meant to be . . . that is the question.

It’s one thing to fall head over heels into a puddle of hazelnut coffee, and quite another to fall for the—gasp—wrong guy. Straight-A junior Julia may be accident prone, but she’s queen of following rules and being prepared. That’s why she keeps a pencil sharpener in her purse and a pocket Shakespeare in her, well, pocket. And that’s also why she’s chosen Mark Bixford, her childhood crush, as her MTB (“meant to be”).

But this spring break, Julia’s rules are about to get defenestrated (SAT word: to be thrown from a window) when she’s partnered with her personal nemesis, class-clown Jason, on a school trip to London. After one wild party, Julia starts receiving romantic texts . . . from an unknown number! Jason promises to help discover the identity of her mysterious new suitor if she agrees to break a few rules along the way. And thus begins a wild goose chase through London, leading Julia closer and closer to the biggest surprise of all: true love.

Because sometimes the things you least expect are the most meant to be.

What I thought:

If you’re looking for a fun contemporary romance, that’s also set in London, then definitely read this! I loved this book so much, I probably would have finished it all in one day if not for the fact that I had to be up early for work. I borrowed this from the library but I’m so going to buy my own copy when I get the chance, especially since my eBook copy didn’t have the cover in colour.

Julia is kinda of a nerdy girl, who loves Shakespeare and reading classic books and keeping her grades perfect. I really loved her character, she had a quick mind and her clumsy-ness and fear of geese was hilarious. Jason was even funnier, his random acts of crazy had me laughing tons, but as you read you also get to see a deeper side of him which was really sweet.

Together these two made this whole book  such a good read, even through the sad moments. It will have you rooting for them to be together in the end too. The hunt for the mysterious love texter (you’ll find out as you read) was a great journey across London, and there were so many historic and beautiful sounding places mentioned. I really need to visit London someday!

I highly recommend this book for those wanting a cute and funny contemporary romance, and since it’s almost Spring, what better time than now to pick it up!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

3 comments on “Review: Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill

  1. I think this was my favorite contemporary read last year. SO ADORABLE! I had to get my own copy, too. 🙂 I’ve never been to London, but now I want to go even more! 😀

  2. I’m so glad you loved this one! I really did too. Julia was so funny & relatable – I absolutely loved her character and this read just like a romantic comedy to me! 🙂

  3. Oh, I must read this one now! It’s snowing out right now, so I think it would be the perfect pick-me-up read. 🙂 And I love, love, love the cover — it’s just so beautiful!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

