Review: Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers

some girls are

Title: Some Girls Are

Author: Courtney Summers 

Release Date/Publisher: January 5th 2010 by St. Martin’s Griffin

Finished: March 20th 2013

Pages: 246-Paperback-owned

Synopsis:

Climbing to the top of the social ladder is hard—falling from it is even harder.  Regina Afton used to be a member of the Fearsome Fivesome, an all-girl clique both feared and revered by the students at Hallowell High… until vicious rumors about her and her best friend’s boyfriend start going around.  Now Regina’s been “frozen out” and her ex-best friends are out for revenge.  If Regina was guilty, it would be one thing, but the rumors are far from the terrifying truth and the bullying is getting more intense by the day.  She takes solace in the company of Michael Hayden, a misfit with a tragic past who she herself used to bully.  Friendship doesn’t come easily for these onetime enemies, and as Regina works hard to make amends for her past, she realizes Michael could be more than just a friend… if threats from the Fearsome Foursome don’t break them both first.

Tensions grow and the abuse worsens as the final days of senior year march toward an explosive conclusion in this dark new tale from the author of Cracked Up To Be.

What I thought:

I’ve read one other book by this author (This is Not a Test) so I knew getting into this one that it would be darker than some of my normal reads. But boy was it good too.

This is not your typical high school drama book. It does have drama, but it’s a lot harsher and yet realistic. It shows what can happen to people who get involved in this kind of social disaster, all because of rumours and lies. The suffering that some people can go through all because of some words is horrible (I know I hated high school because of people like this).  This book also has some romance, but it’s not the kind where you think it’s going to be happy rainbows all the way through and she gets the guy in the end and they live happily ever after (not saying if she does or not get him, but you know what I mean).

So it all gets crazy when Regina goes to a party and something bad happens, and she confides in the wrong person. Her “best friend” miss popular Anna doesn’t take the rumours well, and decides that Regina is out of their group and so the torturing starts. Regina is not just going to take this though, and she does dish out some well deserved revenge as the story goes on.  Karma comes back to get her though, because of the many things she did when she was popular before all this happened.

I felt like I was on the edge of my seat through this whole book and wondering what kind of things were going to go on between the characters, hoping things would work out in the end. It really is a good book and I think it should be read by teens in school, but there really are some emotional moments while you read.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

3 comments on “Review: Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers

  1. I loved This is Not a Test…it was so gritty and real. I’ve heard all of Courtney Summers’ books are like that, which from your review, sounds to be true. I have Fall for Anything on my shelf, but I haven’t read it yet. It’s short, too, so I’m hoping to pick it up soon.

  2. Great review! I bought this one the other week and can’t wait to read it. I really love Courtney Summers’s writing! I like that this one looks short … I love a quick read!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

