Review: When the Stars Threw Down Their Spears by Kersten Hamilton

when-the-stars-threw-down-their-spears

Title: When the Stars Threw Down Their Spears (Goblin Wars #3)

Author: Kersten Hamilton

Release Date/Publisher: August 6th 2013 by Clarion Books

Finished: April 7th 2013

Pages: 400-eBook-ARC given for review

Series:

  1. Tyger, Tyger
  2. In the Forests of the Night
  3. When the Stars Threw Down Their Spears

Synopsis:

“People will die.”

Locked doors are opening, and uncanny creatures are tumbling through mysterious portals from Mag Mell, the world-between-worlds, into the streets of Chicago. The Dark Man has marked Aiden with a new song that’s scared him badly, and a frightening new group of sídhe is lurking nearby.

Teagan knows this is war, and she must protect her family. She leaves her flesh and bones behind to join Finn in hunting the evil beings across the city. Meanwhile, their relationship is heating up—almost faster than they can control. But he is still bound to fight goblins his entire life . . . and by blood she is one of them now.

Then the gateway to Mag Mell cracks open again, and the Wylltsons find themselves caught in a trap. As her loved ones begin to die, Teagan realizes that she must destroy the Dark Man and his minions once and for all in order to save those who remain . . .

. . . before it is too late.

What I thought:

I was so happy to be given a chance to read an advanced copy of this book from the author and publisher! I loved the first two books, with all their folklore about Irish travelers and the creatures of Mag Mell. This book sums up the series with a final battle to settle everything.

I have to admit that when I started the book it seemed slow, but what it really did was build up the suspense until the end and start to tie up the loose ends from the other books. There were many more fight scenes in this which were awesome, especially the last one! And of course the added humour was great. What drew me to this series at first was the myths and the goblins, but as you read you really get attached to all the characters and I found that I couldn’t stop reading until I found out how everything finally ended. And of course the ending was great, a perfect one for this series.

When I get a copy of the final version I plan on doing a re-read of all three at once. It’s been a while since I read the first two and I had trouble remembering little things at first, plus I think it would be fun! Definitely give this series a read if you want something a little different with goblins and other creatures. I think this series needs some more recognition, so go read it!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

