Book Blogger Confessions-May 6th 2013

bloggerconfessions

Book Blogger Confessions (hosted by For What It’s Worth) is a meme that posts the 1st and 3rd Monday of every month, where book bloggers “confess” and vent about blogging/bookish topics. Feel free to share, vent and offer solutions.

Just keep it respectful – no bashing authors or other bloggers!

Question: 

Reading challenges: Do you host or join in any? What is your success rate on completing them? Do they keep your reading goals on track, put too many restrictions/pressure on you?  What do you think makes for a successful reading challenge?

Answer:

I haven’t created/hosted any before but I have participated in a bunch since last year, and there seem to be a ton of them out there! I might do my own some day, but I have to think of something first.

I find that the more I try to complete in a year (last year I did 4 but managed to complete them somehow) the more stressed I feel about getting them done. I kept trying to pick books exclusively for those genre/type specific challenges and it left me less time for my own books or ones I wanted to read that didn’t fit.

This year I went for only two challenges and I decided that I’m not going to put any more pressure on myself to get them done, I’m just going to do my best and see what I can do. if I don’t get them done, at least I can say I tried! It doesn’t help that I’ve already had two reading slumps, almost as soon as the year started too.

I think that as long as there are either check-ins by the hosting blogs and people who can encourage you it would make it a lot more fun. Especially if it’s well organized and the hosts themselves are nice! I haven’t come across anyone bring otherwise so far, but you never know right.

How many challenges are you doing/hosting this year?

8 comments on “Book Blogger Confessions-May 6th 2013

  1. I don’t like feeling pressured on Challenges either. The ones I host are very laid back. I think I need to be more involved in them, but time seems to slip away before I can implement my ideas.

    I think we all go through reading slumps, but being a book blogger just makes it more pronounced.

  2. I’ve never hosted to participated in a reading challenge. My biggest issue is that I go through spurts when I want to read and devour every book I can get my hands on, and other spurts where all I want to do is write. During my writing spurts I hardily read at all, or I read something that inspires me in my current project.

    Since I know I’m like this, I steer clear of the reading challenges and the pressures they would pose. I’m a perfectionist and would be very upset with myself if I didn’t finish.

  3. THIS –> ” I kept trying to pick books exclusively for those genre/type specific challenges and it left me less time for my own books or ones I wanted to read that didn’t fit.”

    Challenges change how I read and I feel too boxed in other than the Goodreads one.

    I think if challenges generated more discussion it would be more of a fun event. Otherwise I feel like I’m just trying to crack out the books to meet a goal.

  4. I haven’t done one since a couple years..I did a debut challenge and that was easy enough to keep track of all the new books & authors. I also do goodreads …but I don’t want to stress myself out with trying to read books all the time. I am mood reader.

  5. Mhm…good topic! Last year was my first year of blogging, I didn’t participate in any challenges and was pretty much free to read whatever I wanted. This year, I joined four challenges and it’s going..okay. I’m having a hard time choosing the books I read and usually end up staring at my shelf for hours, so challenges give me some kind of guideline. Also, the sequel challenge really forces me to finish or at least continue some of the series I’ve started – I don’t think I would have ended up reading any of those ever, really. I think it always depends on the purpose. Apart from the sequel challenge, I like the Debut Author Challenge – obviously because it helps me discovering new authors – and the TBR Pile challenge as I tend to buy books and never read them. For example, I wouldn’t do the Paranormal challenge again, though, as I am just not a fan of paranormal stories (which makes me wonder why on earth I decided to do it anyway…). So, yeah, if there’s something you really, really want to get done reading – wise I think challenges are helpful, but they can get overwhelming (like this comment…) 😀 I hope you have a great day!

    • You bing up a good point! Although it was stressful to read according to challenges I also read some books I normally wouldn’t have. The Zombie challenge was lots of fun and I aimed for a lower number of books, and I found some awesome series because of it. I think I just had too many challebges going at once. But it really can depend on which ones you do too.
      I love long comments, so don’t worry!

  6. Hmmm you bring up a valid point. I still consider myself more or less of a noob and while I’ve never participated in any reading challenges (yet!) I do feel like I could easily get more stressed with it than anything and then end up reading even LESS because of it all haha But like you said, if the challenge is hosted by good bloggers who encourage you, encourage check ins and all that fun stuff, I’m sure it can be more positive 😀

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

