Review: Dark Triumph by R.L. LaFevers

dark triumph

Title: Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2)

Author: R.L. LaFevers

Release Date/Publisher: April 2nd 2013 by Houghton Mifflin Books for Children

Finished: April 3rd 2013

Pages: 400-hardcover given for review

Series:

  1. Grave Mercy
  2. Dark Triumph
  3. Mortal Heart

Synopsis:

Sybella arrives at the convent’s doorstep half mad with grief and despair. Those that serve Death are only too happy to offer her refuge—but at a price. Naturally skilled in both the arts of death and seduction, the convent views Sybella as one of their most dangerous weapons.

But those assassin’s skills are little comfort when the convent returns her to a life that nearly drove her mad. Her father’s rage and brutality are terrifying, and her brother’s love is equally monstrous. And while Sybella is a weapon of justice wrought by the god of Death himself, He must give her a reason to live. When she discovers an unexpected ally imprisoned in the dungeons, will a daughter of Death find something other than vengeance to live for?

This heart-pounding sequel to Grave Mercy serves betrayal, treachery, and danger in equal measure, bringing readers back to fifteenth century Brittany and will keep them on the edge of their seats.

What I thought:

I really loved Grave mercy when I first read it, and this book takes what I loved but changes i slightly. This story is seen through the eyes of Sybella, one of the other women who serves Death. She was mentioned in the first book and she seemed kind of wild but I was so happy to get to know her more in this. She really has a dark past and hides many secrets, and her ties to a certain family were crazy.

I liked that this story was a continuation of the battles from the first, but seen through another character. There were some slower moments compared to the first book too, since before the story and plot had to be set and described, but actually I really liked how it went from action packed fights to  more calm parts as I read. Sybella was definitely different but I liked her character, especially how she grows and changes in the book (you’ll see when you read it). Beast also returns in this one, and we get to find out a little more about him too which was awesome since I remember liking him in the first book.

In the author’s notes, she talks about how hard it is to create a story and still stay historically accurate  I liked getting that little glimpse into how she wrote this, and even though I don’t know much about the settings of this story I have to say it was very well written and I’m really excited to read the next book when it’s out!

If you want a good historical book with assassins and some romance definitely read this series!

SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

9 comments on “Review: Dark Triumph by R.L. LaFevers

  1. Yay! I love seeing positive reviews for this one! I still haven’t read it, but it’s on my shelf and I can’t wait. I hate that it’s so much shorter than Grave Mercy though … I remember tearing through that beast so fast!

    Great review, Kelsey! 🙂

  2. I just read Grave Mercy last month but I’m definitely excited for this one! I’m really curious to see what Sybella is like from her point of view instead of just Ismae’s. Also, hearing that Beast returns only makes me more excited because I loved him in the last one 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

