Let’s Talk!-5/10/13

Lets-Talk

Welcome to the Let’s Talk weekly discussion meme!

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

Q:  Do you take advantage of Freebies? or Do you think Freebies are a good selling tool for authors and publishers?

A: I get free books once in a while from authors and very few from publishers, so I don’t think I’m really taking advantage. Most of the books I read on this blog are either bought by me or from the library. I do think that free books are a great way to help advertise as long as they’re given to bloggers, especially if they write fair reviews. Getting the book out there and recognized is the best way to make people remember it and want to buy a copy, I know when I see enough hype for a book and I remmber it I’m more likely to pick it up.

What do you think of freebies?

4 comments on “Let’s Talk!-5/10/13

  1. I like freebies. I too get them once in a while especially if the book have my attention. I find it a great way to promote and get the author’s name and books out there, especially if they’re new but if they’re a veteran, then it’s a great way to reach new readers. I get most of my freebies from authors too or from requests.
    I think freebies are a great way to promote a book because there are so many book blog reviewers that if the book was given to them for free it’ll be a greater chance that their followers and readers will pick it up from reading a review from that blog.

  2. I take advantage of them on a regular basis… maybe not as frequently as I used to, but I still pick one up every now and then. My ‘Why Buy the Cow’ challenge is evidence of that. I read just over 70 last year and that doesn’t include the books that were direct from authors or publishers. I think my numbers are down a little this year, but I still have a lot on my Kindle that need to be read. Since a lot of the Freebies that I’ve downloaded have led me to purchase subsequent books I think they are a great way to introduce readers to authors they may otherwise not know about.

  3. WHo doesn’t enjoy a good freebie or steal of a deal sometimes eh? I’ve gotten a few free e-books from authors, and once physical book so I don’t take advantage as much as I could…but I agree with you that it IS a great way to promote a book…especially if the reviews stay honest.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

