Review: Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

just listen

Title: Just Listen

Author: Sarah Dessen

Release Date/Publisher: February 28th 2008 by Penguin Group (USA) (first published April 6th 2006)

Finished: April 25th 2013

Pages: 400-eBook-Library

Synopsis:

Last year, Annabel was “the girl who has everything”—at least that’s the part she played in the television commercial for Kopf’s Department Store.This year, she’s the girl who has nothing: no best friend because mean-but-exciting Sophie dropped her, no peace at home since her older sister became anorexic, and no one to sit with at lunch. Until she meets Owen Armstrong. Tall, dark, and music-obsessed, Owen is a reformed bad boy with a commitment to
truth-telling. With Owen’s help,maybe Annabel can face what happened
the night she and Sophie stopped being friends.

What I thought:

I have to say that the cover for this is just so pretty, and I really wish that my digital copy from the library had it even if it wasn’t in colour but instead I just got text. At least I can admire it here!

This book was probably one of my favourite ones by Sarah so far. I usually don’t go for the books that involve music, but I can say I really enjoyed this one. As for the music, if you enjoy books that have that theme, definitely check this book out! I loved how the author used  it to bring people together and helped them to heal and move on.

Both main characters were likeable and I loved it when they got to know each other, although the circumstances of how they met were kind of sad at first. Annabel was friends with the popular girl, but something happened and they broke apart (I’m glad they stopped being friends since Sophie was a b*itch meanie, but what happened to start it was not something I’d wish on anyone). Usually in books where the popular girl falls from her popularity, I find that she tends to be kind of snobby, but Annabel was different. She was a model of course and had trouble with any kind of confrontation, but she seemed more human and a character I could like, and as if she just kind of hung around the popular people because of Sophie.

Owen had a few of his own issues with his anger, and used music not only to help that but he really did start to inspire Annabel the closer they got together. I loved how she slowly changed and felt complete and more in thouch with herself. Her family (especially sisters) also had some bad trauma, but through their own means they change too, which was so touching. And their romance was so cute too!

I honestly didn’t know how much I was going to like this book, but I highly recommend it for people who like young adult romance with a touch of music!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

  1. I like this cover! It’s wonderful that your library carries Sarah Dessen’s e-books. Mine doesn’t – I guess I’ll have to see if I could request some suggested purchases with the librarian. Thanks for sharing how much you enjoyed reading the story 🙂

    • I think my library has most of her books, but if your library can get some in that would be awesome, they’re such good books and I’m sure lots of people would love to read them 🙂

  2. Don’t you hate that about ebooks from the library? Sometimes you get a gorgeous cover and sometimes you don’t. Oh, and my ereader is black and white — it’s just not the same!

    I think I bought this one a while back … LOVE me some Sarah Dessen! I’ll have to read this one soon!

  3. Totally agree with your rating! I just finished reading the book and absolutely loved it. Just Listen is my fave Sarah Dessen to date, I was really blown away by this book.

    Nice review. 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

