Review: What the Spell? by Brittany Geragotelis

whatthespell

Title: What the Spell? (Life’s a Witch #1)

Author: Brittany Geragotelis

Release Date/Publisher:  January 29th 2013 by Simon and Schuster

Finished: May 1st 2012

Pages: 328-Hardcover-owned

Series:

  1. What the Spell
  2. Life’s a Witch
  3. The Witch is Back

Synopsis:

A teenage witch juggles popularity and romance while keeping her powers a secret in this spellbinding debut.Almost-sixteen-year-old Brooklyn feels invisible, but she desperately wants to be pretty, to be popular, to be adored by a cute guy. Luckily for her, she’s a witch about to come of age—so she’s only a few spells away from making it all happen.

On her milestone birthday, Brooklyn’s conservative parents finally unbind her powers, which include the ability to magically match couples with a love spell. Brooklyn uses her special skills to get a makeover, new friends, and the attention of her crush, Asher. But the popular clique Brooklyn wants to infiltrate puts her in the same precarious position as her Salem ancestors: If she’s found out, she could be vilified—and lose Asher in the process. Can she make the most of her magic, or will she be luckless and loveless? Be careful what you witch for!

What I thought:

I had received the second book of this series as an ARC, so I decided to get my own copy of the first book and see what it was all about. When I read it involved witches, I got really excited since I love witchy books!

This book however fell short of what I would have liked. This book revolves around Brooklyn, a nobody at high school who has no friends and is positive she’s invisible. When her powers get unlocked, she goes for a total magical makeover right away, and then starts her journey of becoming one of the popular kids “The Elite”.

Now if you’re looking for something that has some high school drama and popular kids being evil, then you will like this book somewhat. I honestly was hoping for a lot more of the actual magic to happen during this. There were little spells and quick mentions of other witches and history of covens and such, but that was such a tiny part of this book and disappointing.

I probably would have liked the book a lot more if Brooklyn hadn’t fallen to the temptation of popularity so fast and actually listened to those that actually cared for her, and their warnings. She was also very selfish during the book, which was annoying. I can understand though the want to be popular, but with the stuff they pull I thought she could have said no earlier and done the right thing instead of waiting.

I didn’t enjoy this book very much, I wanted more actual witch stuff and not the same old high school drama crap.

SinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: What the Spell? by Brittany Geragotelis

  1. I still have to review this one, but like you I found it kind of terrible.. Like she was so unhappy with herself that she changed her body image! magic or not that send a wrong message.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

