Book Blogger Confessions-June 3rd 2013

bloggerconfessions

Book Blogger Confessions (hosted by For What It’s Worth) is a meme that posts the 1st and 3rd Monday of every month, where book bloggers “confess” and vent about blogging/bookish topics. Feel free to share, vent and offer solutions.

Just keep it respectful – no bashing authors or other bloggers!

Question: 

Do participating in book tours/cover reveals and author guests post drive traffic to your blog? What type of problems have you encountered when hosting them? (please keep it civil – no names or calling specific people out) As a blog follower, are you ever turned off by these kinds of posts? How much publicity is too much?

Answer:

I honestly don’t see much of a jump in traffic on my blog at all, usually I have less than I would compared to a review, unless there’s a giveaway involved. It really depends on the type of post and if it’s something interesting too though, like a cover reveal for a book that everyone has heard about.

I haven’t really had any issues hosting them, everyone who’s been in charge (author/publisher a blogger) have been pretty professional in getting me the information in time. I have had to cancel some review tours before, but that’s because I didn’t have enough time or didn’t like the book.

I think that if a lot of bloggers are posting the exact same thing I won’t always check out their blogs since I have the same thing, which is probably why I’m slowing down on doing those kinds of posts on here. It just gets too much to have them up all the time, but I’m always willing to do a more personal post for an author that asks!

I know a while back there was one piece of publicity for a certain book that was way over the top and I totally ignored it, so there is definitely such a thing as too much publicity turning people away too. There is a certain piece that people have on their blogs (the one with the wind) that has sounds on it and I had to shut the blog down quickly. If I don’t like blogs with music that you can’t turn off, I’m not going to like ads that do the same thing!

14 comments on “Book Blogger Confessions-June 3rd 2013

  1. Yes, I completely agree! I have only done one blog tour or anything similar to it, but I think that too many of them sound the same and all the posts on people’s blogs sound the same as well, even though I do like seeing other’s perspectives. And ugh, I hate the piece with the sound of wind.

    • When I first started I didn’t realize everyone was getting the exact same content, but then I figured I’d just post it to help out until I got tired of having those posts fill my stream.
      Yes, that add was definitely annoying, and I just avoided those blogs that had it for a while.

    • Luckily I haven’t had to wait too long for things when I did those posts, I’ve heard of bloggers though who get forgotten about or never get their post material, which sucks.

  2. I prefer more personal ones too (: Tours can be personal but only the best are I’ve found. At times I’ve been asked if I, Amy Bookworm personally, could participate in some type of promotion & post something different (well, not completely different, it’s still a promotion). People know I like content which the majority aren’t posting so even if I have the same as everyone else I’ll have something else on top. It’s a hoop I’ll jump through if I like a book/author. If I don’t like either then what’s the point in posting at all?

    • Good point!
      Review tours can be a good way to make it more personal too, but then again if you don’t like the book they encourage you to not put your post up until after it anyway, which kind if kicks the creativity out the door.

  3. I think it’s interesting that you brought up the whole “sound with post” thing — I didn’t even think of that, but it’s something that I find annoying, too. 🙂

  4. I’ve never actually hosted a tour but I do join cover reveals for those I enjoying reading. LOL~The piece with the wind. 0.o I haven’t gotten the chance to experience that as of yet but from what I’m getting I don’t think I’ll like it neither, since I do turn off the music to some pages with sound.

  5. Great post! I often don’t have any traffic on my blog for book tours. It’s kind of sad, but I definitely understand. I agree that someone is not just going to keep visiting similar blog post, just on different blogs. I’m the same way though, if an indy author asks, I will usually have them do a guest post or book blurb.

  6. I have never reviewed a book for a tour. I feel way too pressured with that. I try to stick with tours where I know the author or tour host and that they’re reliable.

    I haven’t been burned exactly but a few have come down to the wire with information being sent on time.

  7. Very well said! I think I remember the publicity tour you mentioned, where it seemed that everyone was posting the same info every day for like a week or so. Incredibly annoying! I’d rather have a more exclusive tour where only a few bloggers took part, so that it didn’t feel like overkill.

  8. I couldn’t agree more! Those kinds of posts can be on the repetitive side and then they tend to generate less traffic than, say a review! I think that’s why I’ve done minimal posts like these and stuck to trying to read/review more! Well said & thanks for sharing Kelsey 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

