Review: Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

along for the ride

Title: Along for the Ride

Author: Sarah Dessen

Release Date/Publisher: June 16th 2009 by Speak (first published June 1st 2009)

Finished: April 27th 2013

Pages: 250-eBook-Library

Synopsis:

Ever since her parents began fighting, Auden has been unable to sleep at night. Now, spending a summer at a charming beach town with her father and his new family, she has to find new places to pass the time she spends awake. And so she meets Eli, a fellow insomniac who becomes her nighttime guide. Together, they embark on parallel quests: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life she has missed; for Eli, to come to terms with the death of a friend. In her trademark blockbuster-style, Sarah Dessen creates a powerful and irresistible story of two people learning how to connect.

What I thought:

Another awesome book by the author, and one I really loved!

Auden is definitely a different type of main character. She was raised in an academic world because of her parents, always believing studies were the most important. Because of this she doesn’t really have any friends and never had a proper childhood. When she was younger her parents also split, so pleasing her mom was always a top priority. I felt bad for her, because divorce is never an easy thing to go through, especially for children. Because of this, she developed a bit of insomnia,  not sleeping at night until the sun rises.

When she randomly decides to visit her dad and stepmom (something totally unlike her) she gets to meet a small town of people who after a while start to change her. She meets Eli, a quiet guy who is mourning over his friend dying, and eventually they become friends and help each other in subtle ways. He shows her the nightlife and how to really spend her time at night, and she get him talking again.

I thought the whole idea of someone who isn’t really good socially, especially around people their own age was really fun to read about, especially one party scene with a jealous ex-girlfriend! I really felt like I was on a ride myself, coasting through and loving all of it. I really liked how it ended too, so cute and everything wrapped up! One thing I love about the author’s books is I’m never left wondering what happened to any small part of the story.

If you love contemporary, pick up a copy of this! If you’ve already read it, I now know why so many people love this author!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

5 comments on “Review: Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you loved this one! It’s probably my favourite since it’s the book that got me into Sarah Dessen. 🙂 I loved how prominent the family was in this story (even if I didn’t find myself EVER warming up to Auden’s dad) and Eli … *sigh* I should read this one again!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

