DNF Review: Life’s a Witch by Brittany Geragotelis

lifesawitch

Title: Life’s a Witch (Life’s a Witch #2)

Author: Brittany Geragotelis

Release Date/Publisher:  July 9th 2013 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Finished: May 2nd 2012

Pages: 320-Paperback-ARC given for review

Series:

  1. What the Spell
  2. Life’s a Witch
  3. The Witch is Back

Synopsis:

Hadley Bishop is a witch. As a descendant of the first woman executed in the Salem witch trials, Hadley understands the consequences if her secret gets out. But witchcraft has come a long way since Salem, and as far Hadley is concerned the past is past. Beauty spells, designer outfits and being in with the popular social crowd is much more her thing! But when the adults from Hadley’s coven suddenly vanish, it seems that the past is catching up with the present. All the evidence points to an age-old rival coven as the culprits, and Hadley must lead the young witches of her coven in a fight to avenge their elders and rescue their missing parents. At the same time Hadley is distracted by the mysterious and gorgeous Asher, who seems to have plenty of secrets of his own, not to mention a bit of magic. But whose side is he on? With everything at stake, can Hadley trust her own magic – and her heart – to guide her coven to victory?

What I thought:

Edit: After a comment from the author I realized I was an idiot, and this actually is a separate book than the first. I will cross-out that part of the review, but leave it in so you can still see my thoughts and initial confusion. I still did not like the book so my rating is staying.

I don’t like not finishing a book, but I really couldn’t stand the main character in this book and I couldn’t force myself to read any more of it. It was really that bad.

Not only is this book labeled as being a part of a series (this being #2) but it makes absolutely no sense! It reads as a completely new story and if it was to be a continuation there’d be so many inconsistencies it’s not even funny.

For instance, her parents don’t use magic and hide from covens in the first one, totally the opposite in this one. Her and Asher are going out in book 1, and she just meets him for the first time in this one (again?). There was a cliffhanger in the first book, totally not even part of this storyline now. If it was supposed to be a new book and it just labeled wrong here, fine, but I still didn’t like anything that I read. (I honestly thought that this was the same character from the first book, I couldn’t even remember the girls name from before when I read the other one.)

Not to mention that the main character is really annoying. She’s full of herself, self-centered and that is not how teens should be acting these days! Not a good role-model in the book world at all. She even called the school her own, and how she had to “keep it running”.

I received this book for reviewing purposes, and I thank the publishers for the opportunity but I really couldn’t get through it at all. I am not going to read the next book.

DNF

10 comments on “DNF Review: Life’s a Witch by Brittany Geragotelis

  1. Oh no! I hate DNF’ing. I have the first two books and I’m planning to read them, but this is the second time I’ve heard that the main character was really unlikable.

  2. That sucks! There are some “series” books that are more like companion books … was that the case, maybe? Regardless, I hate reading a book where I just don’t like the main character. It makes for a very hard read!

    • No it’s the same characters just set in a completely different story. I thought it was a continuation at first too but I skimmed through the last of it and it didn’t change.

  3. Actually, the two books have two completely different main characters. In WHAT THE SPELL, we’re following Brooklyn Sparks….a girl who’s new to her witchy powers. In LIFE’S A WITCH, it’s all about Hadley Bishop, a direct descendent of Bridget Bishop, the first person hanged during the Salem Witch Trials. WHAT THE SPELL is a prequel to the series, which starts with LIFE’S A WITCH. But Brooklyn will be back in the sequel to LAW. The character that connects both books is Asher.

    Sorry you didn’t connect with Hadley. Some people read her confidence as cockiness and it certainly wasn’t meant that way. She’s a strong female character who is put in a position to be the leader. She’s not perfect, but no one is. But I appreciate that not every book is for everyone. And you’re right. The book world is too vast to waste your time with ones you don’t click with. I do hope others will give it a chance though, because you never know what you’ll like until you give it a try.

    🙂
    Brittany Geragotelis

    • Thank you for clearing that up for me, I looked back and just realized the names are in fact different. I have added a note to the review!

  4. Sorry to hear this didn’t work out. I haven’t DNF’d in ages, but I don’t have a problem with doing it if a book isn’t enjoyable: reading is supposed to be fun, after all 🙂

  5. Hmm, even if it wasn’t meant as a sequel, the fact that you didn’t like the mc can definitely be a deal breaker. I know that for me, not connecting with or even liking the mc is pretty much the only reason I DNF a book. Always unfortunate when it happens :/

  6. It sucks when you simply can not connect with the MC and for me it can make or break a book completely, so I understand your decision to dnf this one. Even before reading your review, I didn’t think this was a book for me but now I’m sure! Thanks for your honestly Kelsey

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

