Review: Haunted by Kelley Armstrong

DSCF2096

Title: Haunted (Women of the Otherworld #5)

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Release Date/Publisher: May 31st 2005 by Seal Books

Finished: May 26th 2013 (originally read years ago)

Pages: 495-paperback-owned

Series:

  1. Bitten
  2. Stolen
  3. Dime Store Magic
  4. Industrial Magic
  5. Haunted
  6. Broken
  7. No Humans Involved
  8. Personal Demon
  9. Living with the Dead
  10. Frostbitten
  11. Waking the Witch
  12. Spell Bound
  13. Thirteen

Synopsis:

Former supernatural superpower Eve Levine has broken all the rules. But she’s never broken a promise—not even during the three year’s she’s spent in the afterworld. So, when the Fates call in a debt she gave her word she’d pay, she has no choice but to comply.

For centuries one of the ghost world’s wickedest creatures has been loosed on humanity, thwarting every attempt to retrieve her. Now it has fall to Eve to capture this demi-demon known as the Nix, who inhabits the bodies of would-be killers, compelling them to complete their deadly acts. It’s a mission that becomes all too personal when the Nix targets those Eve loves most — including Savannah, the daughter she left on earth. But can a renegade witch succeed where a host of angels have failed?

What I thought:

Remember Savannah’s mother Eve, who dies earlier in the series? Well, she gets her own story all the way from the ghost world! In this she’s told to return a favour to the Fates by helping capture the Nix, a demi-demon that possess human killers and gets her fix of chaos from them. The Nix was definitely a great addition to this and I liked how she got some small chapters dedicated to her and what she did in the past with her possessions.

I have to admit, Eve is not my favourite character. She’s bad-ass and strong and likeable, but I just didn’t like this book nearly as much as the other I’ve read so far. The adventure was pretty good  and although she didn’t really get to use too much magic (being a ghost has its downsides) I liked it, but was not as in love. I also wouldn’t have minded a bit more back-story about Eve, as there’s not much in this, although I vaguely remember there being a short story or something with her that explains more. I’ll ahve to read that one again at some point. Eve also is reconnected with Kristof in the ghost world, and their old love connection also starts to fix itself which was cute.

This is a good addition to the series, and although not my favourite it was still good enough to keep me reading!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

3 comments on “Review: Haunted by Kelley Armstrong

  1. It was really I have to admit that I thought pretty much the same when I read this book. And Eve’s backstory (or at least some of it) is in the Tales of the Otherworld anthology (I think) if that helps?

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

