Review: Nomad by J.L. Bryan

Attachment-1

Title: Nomad

Author: J.L. Bryan

Release Date/Publisher: July 26th 2013 by http://www.jlbryanbooks.com

Finished: June 27th 2012

Pages: 214-eBook-given for review

Synopsis:

They took everything: her family, her home, her childhood.

By the age of nineteen, Raven has spent most of her life in the sprawling slums of America, fighting as a rebel against the dictatorship. When the rebellion steals an experimental time-travel device, she travels back five decades to the year 2013. Her plan: assassinate the future dictator when he is still young and vulnerable, long before he comes to power. She must move fast to reshape history, because agents from her own time are on her trail, ready to execute her on sight.

What I thought:

I was given an advanced copy of this to review by the author! I was also mentioned in the acknowledgements page at the beginning with other bloggers and it just made me smile so much. Since this is an advanced version, things may or may not change when the final version is out.

Raven is our main character, and when the book starts she can’t remember anything, except her name. When her memories start coming back she remembers that she’s from the future and was sent back to 2013 for a certain mission, to kill one person. I liked how Raven was written and how the author showed her trying to adapt to the past. Luckily she had some cool technology that helped her. I didn’t feel like the character was fake either, but that she could actually have been from future.

I also liked how the assassination event took a twist, and the story changed a teeny bit from what I would have expected. I didn’t think I’d like where the story went but I actually really did enjoy myself. There was some time travel theory and talk at one point, but luckily it wasn’t insanely complex and I followed along pretty well. It gave just enough information to help the story and not be too confusing.

This book has action, fight scenes, time travel, plasma guns and other futuristic awesomeness! There are some suggestive scenes, but nothing too graphic. The ending was perfectly done and I couldn’t have asked for a better way for things to wrap up! I really liked this book and highly suggest you read it!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

2 comments on “Review: Nomad by J.L. Bryan

  1. Yay! I’m glad you loved it, Kelsey! I thought it was a very fun read and was happy that the time travel aspect of it wasn’t way over my head. And I loved Raven’s character! She was from the future, but still trying to adapt, which was great. And she was very kick-ass! Great review!

  2. hihih I saw you mentioned in there when I started this a few days ago! Cool! 😀 I haven’t been able to put this one down so far…I’m about at 80% and soaking it all in. Loved reading your thoughts on it and glad you enjoyed this one so much ♥

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

