Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

5thwave

Title: The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave #1)

Author: Rick Yancey

Release Date/Publisher: May 7th 2013 by Putnam Juvenile

Finished: June 24th 2013

Pages: 457-Hardcover-library

Series:

  1. The 5th Wave
  2. The Infinite Sea
  3. Untitled

Synopsis:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

What I thought:

When I first heard about this book and found out it was about aliens I got so excited to read it! There were certain things as I read that I was thinking would be a bit different, such as the aliens. Saying how they’re annihilating the population on Earth with those deadly waves makes them seem deadly and dangerous, then making a character (you see him as you read) who seems very human even though he’s apparently an alien kind of ruined it for me. I didn’t get any kind of vibe from him than your regular teenaged guy, and the other ones on Earth just seemed like your normal bad guys.

The book, aside from my slight alien disappointment, was pretty good. I liked how it was divided by sections and each character had their own, instead of just switching POVs each chapter. The different characters were pretty cool too, and I liked seeing different sides from the story and how they made it through. Cassie was the main female lead, then her brother, a soldier called Zombie and a small section from Evan are the focus points.

If you’re looking for a good read with aliens and the leftover humans fighting back to survive, definitely pick this one up. I had my expectations high and they fell  short but it was still a goodread that will keep you hooked to see what happens next.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

7 comments on “Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. Glad to see I’m not the only one who thought this was just so-so! I listened to the audio and it was okay … I mean, you’re right. It’s kind of like when they make zombies more like humans — are they really zombies anymore? I think I expected too much from this one after everyone was raving about it!

    Great review, Kelsey!

  2. I actually liked this one BECAUSE it was so human-like haha. I’m the total opposite. I say, “ALIENS? NO THANKS” so I can totally understand your disappointment! Maybe it’s an alien book for non-alien people!
    Great review!! Very interesting to hear your thoughts on this one!

  3. It’s too bad that this one didn’t live up to all the hype for you. I still really want to give it a try, since I’ve heard a lot of good things as well. Plus, my last alien read (Icons) didn’t go so well and I want to give alien invasions another chance!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

