Review: Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

burnforburn

Title: Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)

Author: Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

Release Date/Publisher: September 18th 2012 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Finished: August 11th 2013

Pages: 358-Hardcover-Library

Series: 

  1. Burn for Burn
  2. Fire with Fire
  3. Ashes to Ashes

Synopsis:

BIG GIRLS DON’T CRY…
THEY GET EVEN.

Lillia has never had any problems dealing with boys who like her. Not until this summer, when one went too far. No way will she let the same thing happen to her little sister.

Kat is tired of the rumours, the insults, the cruel jokes. It all goes back to one person– her ex-best friend– and she’s ready to make her pay.

Four years ago, Mary left Jar Island because of a boy. But she’s not the same girl anymore. And she’s ready to prove it to him.

Three very different girls who want the same thing: sweet, sweet revenge. And they won’t stop until they each had a taste.

What I thought:

I have to admit that I’m not really into the whole high school drama thing anymore, but I was given the second book to review and I’ve heard that people liked this one.

I really liked the concept of three girls randomly banding together to get back at those people that hurt them. I know this could ring well with a lot of people still in school too. As you read on each girl has her own reason for going along with this, and you find out more about what their motivation really is. I really felt the most for Mary, and her story seemed to resonate through the book the strongest. It still sucked what happened to the other girls, but bullying is no laughing matter and really sucks.

The story was built pretty well, some of the revenge tactics were what you’d normally think of, like switching sunscreen for something else but some were perfect. The build up for the finale was pretty decent, and the end was intense. There also seemed to be an added touch of something paranormal connected to one of the girls, so I’m excited to see where that goes in the next book, whether things were a coincidence or not. It still reads fully like a contemporary though.

This was a fun read, and I really was rooting for the girls to get even with their revenge, but I would have liked it better if I was still in high school and of the proper age group for it. It isn’t something I would have normally picked up to read but I did like it an am going right into the second book. If you love the idea of these girls getting revenge on some popular kids who wronged them, then read on!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

5 comments on “Review: Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

  1. I do wonder about certain books, if I’d like them more if I were in that age group. Some authors are great at making a book perfect for a WIDE range of readers, but there’s always the odd one that I just don’t get. Still, I bought this one the other week — I look forward to reading it! I’ve read Jenny Han’s Summer series and The List by Siobhan Vivian, so hopefully it’s good. 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

