Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

crown of midnight

UK version of the cover

Title: Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Release Date/Publisher: August 15th 2013 by Bloomsbury Childrens

Finished: August 10th 2013

Pages: 432-Paperback-owned

Series:

0.1 to 0.5- The Assassin’s Blade
1. Throne of Glass
2. Crown of Midnight
3. Heir of Fire
4. Queen of Shadows
5. Untitled
6. Untitled

Synopsis:

Eighteen-year-old Celaena Sardothien is bold, daring and beautiful – the perfect seductress and the greatest assassin her world has ever known. But though she won the King’s contest and became his champion, Celaena has been granted neither her liberty nor the freedom to follow her heart. The slavery of the suffocating salt mines of Endovier that scarred her past is nothing compared to a life bound to her darkest enemy, a king whose rule is so dark and evil it is near impossible to defy. Celaena faces a choice that is tearing her heart to pieces: kill in cold blood for a man she hates, or risk sentencing those she loves to death. Celaena must decide what she will fight for: survival, love or the future of a kingdom. Because an assassin cannot have it all . . . And trying to may just destroy her.

What I thought:

Last year Throne of Glass was my favourite book. And now Crown of Midnight is on the top of my list! The author took me through a rough and tumble cycle with this book, and I loved every second of it.

So much more goes on than the first book, and while I was able to predict one small thing, the rest I was completely blown away by. There are two parts in this book, and the first half has everything going smoothly, including one of the cutest romances that I was really cheering for. Then the second part comes, rips all that away and tosses you into the mystery of the Wyrd and what’s really going on. So much was revealed in this book, and I know there’s even more to come. Even near the end things kept getting clearer, and all of the action and fighting in this really brought it up for me.

In my review of the first book I didn’t talk much about the characters, but Calaena is just so amazing. Not only is a highly trained assassin, but she’s so strong after everything she’s been through in life. Her past starts to play more of a role in this, and if I can I will be reading the four novellas that are set before Throne of Glass soon.

The world in this series is still amazing, I loved how Fae and other creatures used to be around before the King banished everything magical, but even still magic seems to creep itself back into things little by little. I am so excited that this will be a longer series too!

If you’re looking for a great fantary, ancient magic, some romance and all around action, definitely pick this up! I think right now this is my favourite fantasy series!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

6 comments on “Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

