Review: Enchanted by Alethea Kontis

enchanted

Title: Enchanted (Woodcutter Sisters #1)

Author: Alethea Kontis

Release Date/Publisher: May 8th 2012 by Harcourt Children’s Books

Finished: August 20th 2013

Pages: 305-Hardcover-Library

Series: 

  1. Enchanted
  2. Hero
  3. Dearest

Synopsis:

It isn’t easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.

When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.

The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past – and hers?

What I thought:

If you love fairy-tales and all that magical goodness, then this is the book for you! I really liked this book and was surprised how much better it was than I thought it would be. I mean I went in thinking it would be the basic telling of the princess and the frog, but there was so much more going on!

The big part was of course with the frog, but every little other piece of story was woven with other tales that you would probably recognize from childhood. Some I couldn’t remember, but this was just so well done and fun to read! There were also some much deeper plots of story involving the kingdom, and I really wasn’t expecting it but I loved it.

The characters were pretty enchanting too (Hehe). The sisters were all unique but I kept wanting to know more about them, what they were like and what made them so special. I also really liked Trix, he just always seemed so happy and innocent and fun to read about! Saturday seemed like a pretty strong sister too, but I think you get to see more of her in the next book. Sunday was the main sister, and Rumbold was leading male (and love interest). They each had their own POV per chapter, and I really liked having it that way especially when we got to see him change back into human. It wasn’t made all easy and fast for him. The pain and confusion he goes through after becoming human again made it seem so real and I liked that better.

This fairy-tale inspired story was really good, and I loved all the fantasy bits of it, but also the darker depths that the author brings out. Make sure to grab a copy!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: Enchanted by Alethea Kontis

  1. I LOVE Enchanted! It’s literally one of my favorite books. And I’m actually listening to the audiobook right now. It’s just so magical! Everything about it makes the fairy tale nerd in me squeak with joy. I’m so glad you liked it!

    New follower (:

  2. This one was a lot of fun! I was definitely surprised. 🙂 And it was a super quick read. I already have a copy of Hero on the way to me … can’t wait to read Saturday’s story!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

