Review: Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano

perfect ruin

Title: Perfect Ruin (The Internment Chronicles #1)

Author: Lauren DeStefano

Release Date/Publisher: October 1st 2013 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Finished: August 27th 2013

Pages: 368-ARC for review

Series: 

  1. Perfect Ruin
  2. Untitled
  3. Untitled

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

Synopsis:

On Internment, the floating island in the clouds where 15-year-old Morgan Stockhour lives, getting too close to the edge can lead to madness. Even though Morgan’s older brother, Lex, was a Jumper, Morgan vows never to end up like him. She tries her best not to mind that her life is orderly and boring, and if she ever wonders about the ground, and why it is forbidden, she takes solace in best friend Pen and her betrothed, Basil.

Then a murder, the first in a generation, rocks the city. With whispers swirling and fear on the wind, Morgan can no longer stop herself from investigating, especially when she meets Judas. He is the boy being blamed for the murder — betrothed to the victim — but Morgan is convinced of his innocence. Secrets lay at the heart of Internment, but nothing can prepare Morgan for what she will find — or who she will lose.

What I thought:

A big thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada for sending me this!

I loved the author’s Chemical Garden series (even though I still have to finish the last book) so I was really excited to try a new series by her! I wasn’t sure how it would go and what I would think, but I liked the idea of a surprise!

This is a Dystopian book but it’s not like a lot of them out there. Most are about two people falling in love and fighting for that love in a strict government world, and sometimes we never really find out as much about the actual Dystopian world they live in. This book focuses more on the world building since she’s already betrothed to someone, which I really liked and was a nice change of pace. I loved learning about Internment and the lore of how they got there in the sky. It was also interesting to see how their daily lives were different and how everything was controlled and run but they just went along with it because it’s all they know. They are ruled by a King too.

Morgan was always mentioning how she wanted to go to the edge and see the ground below, even if it was dangerous, and even if her brother had an incident because of what he did. She keeps trying to fight it though, afraid she’ll be reported for such thoughts. I loved her sense of curiosity and the fact that she secretly seemed to want some adventure. Well she definitely gets it the more she finds out about the truth of the murder.

The other characters were great too, her best friend Pen was so supportive and creative, and Basil and Thomas seemed like the perfect guys for these ladies, protective and loving.

This is a great new start to a series from the author, and whether you’ve read any of her other books or not, I highly suggest you pick a copy of this up!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

6 comments on “Review: Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano

  1. LOVED this book. I love Lauren’s writing! I was super excited when I got an ARC of this (did a happy dance and everything). She creates such unique worlds and characters. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

  2. I’m reading this right now! It’s not bad … I can’t say I’m liking it more than I liked Wither, but it’s still keeping me engaged, which is nice. I do agree with the last commentor … Lauren really does create some unique worlds!

    Great review, Kelsey!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

