Review: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

e&p

Title: Eleanor and Park

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Release Date/Publisher: February 26th 2013 by St. Martin’s Press

Finished: July 10th 2013

Pages: 325-Hardcover-Library

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

Synopsis:

“Bono met his wife in high school,” Park says.
“So did Jerry Lee Lewis,” Eleanor answers.
“I’m not kidding,” he says.
“You should be,” she says, “we’re sixteen.”
“What about Romeo and Juliet?”
“Shallow, confused, then dead.”
”I love you,” Park says.
“Wherefore art thou,” Eleanor answers.
“I’m not kidding,” he says.
“You should be.”

Set over the course of one school year in 1986, ELEANOR AND PARK is the story of two star-crossed misfits – smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love – and just how hard it pulled you under.

What I thought:

This contemporary romance was cute and had me emotional a few times, especially with all the things Eleanor has to go through at home and trying to be with Park. It’s set in the 80’s, and I loved the reference to older stuff that I remember as a kid (cassettes). I wasn’t sure I was going to enjoy it though. I borrowed it from the library and almost brought it back since I was running out of time for it, but I decided I wanted to give it a chance thanks to other reviews by bloggers.

The two lovebirds are very different but somehow find their way to each other. Eleanor doesn’t have a great home life, dresses weird and has bright red hair. Since she’s the new girl at school no one really likes her. She got picked on which wasn’t really fair but probably right for the time. Park doesn’t even like her really at first, but they happen to sit on the bus together and it starts blossoming. Park is part Korean, has a loving family, but still feels different from the other kids in the area. Yet they don’t pick on him for being Asian, and you figure they would have. He loves comics and music, which he shares with Eleanor eventually. Sometimes the two were frustrating, and the ending wasn’t exactly what I was expecting.

There isn’t too much to say without giving some things away, but if you’re looking for a little bit of a different romance with two unlikely people, definitely pick this book up. I actually really enjoyed it.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

One comment on “Review: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

