Review: Towering by Alex Flinn

towering

Title: Towering

Author: Alex Flinn

Release Date/Publisher: May 14th 2013 by HarperTeen

Finished: June 5th 2013

Pages: 293-Hardcover-library

Synopsis:

At first, I merely saw his face, his hands on the window ledge. Then, his whole body as he swung himself through the window. Only I could not see what he swung on.
Until, one day, I told my dream self to look down. And it was then that I saw. He had climbed on a rope. I knew without asking that the rope had been one of my own tying.

Rachel is trapped in a tower, held hostage by a woman she’s always called Mama. Her golden hair is growing rapidly, and to pass the time, she watches the snow fall and sings songs from her childhood, hoping someone, anyone, will hear her.

Wyatt needs time to reflect or, better yet, forget about what happened to his best friend, Tyler. That’s why he’s been shipped off to the Adirondacks in the dead of winter to live with the oldest lady in town. Either that, or no one he knows ever wants to see him again.

Dani disappeared seventeen years ago without a trace, but she left behind a journal that’s never been read, not even by her overbearing mother…until now.

What I thought:

I loved the other books I’ve read by this author, so when I saw she was coming out with another one I got really excited. But unfortunately as I read this, it fell short of what I thought I was going to get. It was an interesting story, but there were some things wrong with it and I just didn’t connect with it.

First was the romance. It was cute that these two just happened to find each other, but when they met they were instantly in love, in a “magical” way. That just didn’t feel right, I would have preferred if they had met and learned more about each other then fallen in love as he helped her. They also made out when they were first together, and were saying they loved each other in the first few days. I just didn’t really believe it.

As for the story, it was interesting but I found a few things predictable, like who Mama. I wasn’t expecting the drug ring link, but that whole part felt a bit dull especially with a certain very random “prophecy” involved. It just kind of showed up, the same way she learned about her magical powers later in the book, they were just there and she accepted it no questions asked.

I love fairy-tale retellings, but this one I didn’t like very much. I wanted so much more from it,such as  a more developed romance and plot.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

