Review: Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

Incarnate

Title: Incarnate (New Soul #1)

Author: Jodi Meadows

Release Date/Publisher: January 31st 2012 by Katherine Tegen Books

Finished: July 28th 2013

Pages: 234-eBook-Owned

Series:

  1. Incarnate
  2. Asunder
  3. Infinite

Synopsis:

New soul

Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.

No soul

Even Ana’s own mother thinks she’s a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she’ll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?

Heart

Sam believes Ana’s new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana’s enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else’s life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?

What I thought:

First of all, that cover is gorgeous! I started reading this for a local book club meeting, after it sitting on my Kobo for a while. I have to admit that I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it, I tried reading the first chapter before but gave up on it, I was in a slump at the time. I am so glad I picked it up again though!

The world and the whole story really captured me. There isn’t much description or stories of the past which I would have liked more of, but the whole idea of one million souls being reborn over and over and remembering their pasts was cool and unique. Then add the new soul, Ana into the mix and everything changes for them. Some accepted her, some were impartial, and of course there were those that hated her and thought she was a bad omen.

Ana was a little different of a character, very cynical but I still enjoyed reading through her POV.  She was raised by another person from Heart, Li, who didn’t treat her that well, showed no love, and was always finding ways to get under her skin. I wished she would have tried a little harder to let people get closer to her near the beginning of the book, but I can understand that it’s all new for her. She did warm up and I liked her more as I read too. Then in comes Sam, who not only helps her but takes her in when they get to Heart. He seems like a decent guy, even with all of his secrets, but I think in one kitchen scene he should have gone for it! He redeems himself later though.

Ok, so after all the stuff I just mentioned, it sounds like a good story right? Now add dragons!! They show up briefly some attacks, but they was pretty awesome, especially since they spit acid! And I love me some dragons. There’s other mythological-type creatures mentioned, like trolls and centaurs, but the only one that made an appearance was a Sylph.

This book definitely surpassed my expectations, and I am so going to read the next book asap!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

11 comments on “Review: Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

  1. Gah! I have been wanting to read this one since it came out and your review just reminded me of why: it sounds awesome!! I love how fresh the concept sounds, how layered the premise seems to be AND dragons!! 😀 Thanks for another lovely review Kelsey ^^

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

