Ho-Ho-Ho Read-a-thon November 7th-11th 2013

HoHoHo Holiday Read-a-Thon

This is hosted by Kimba@ Caffeinated Book Reviewer  and Jennifer @ Bawdy Book Blog. Here’s what they say about this:

Whether it’s the covers, or the tales of good tidings they put us in the holiday spirit. We wanted to share that with you. So grab your pile of holiday themed books and sign-up to join us November 7th to 11th for a holiday themed read-a-thon, filled with challenges, good cheer and maybe some Figgy pudding! The challenges will be festive and give you a chance to win some holiday cheer for yourself!  Join for one day, just the weekend or the entire event. Read as many holiday related books from your YA, NA and Adult collections as you can.  Participating in challenges, spreading the news, following hosts and reading will all earn you entries for the grand prize- a twenty dollar gift-card from B&N or Amazon to fill your stocking with!

I just happened to find this read-a-thon, and what better time to start getting into the Christmas spirit. So here’s my goals! I will update progress on this page as I go.

Goals:

  • Read 2 books or 800 pages
  • Participate in the challenges

Books to Read:

codenameverityintimeforchristmasmagicalchristmas

I plan on finishing one book to honour Remembrance Day a bit since it’s on Monday. But I also am waiting for one of my Christmas-y reads from the library still.

Updates:

Nov 7th
Read: 83 pages (85-168) of Code Name Verity
Comments: I was out most of the evening visiting my friend and I was also feeling pretty sick after reading on the bus, but I think I did well!

Nov 8th
Read: 85 pages (168-253), Finished Code Name Verity
Comments: I finished my first book! Now onto a Christmas one, Home in Time for Christmas.

Nov 9th
Read: 130 pages (1-130) of Home in Time for Christmas
Comments: I was so close to finishing the second book! It’s pretty good so far too, and my third book for this readathon came in from the library.

Nov 10th
Read: 52 pages (131-183) Finished Home in Time for Christmas
Comments: So this day kind of sucked. I got those pages read in the morning, but I ended up getting food poisoning at lunch and being sick the rest of the day/night.

Nov 11th 
Still sick today, no reading done.

Wrap-Up

I ended up reading two of the books on my list, participated in one challenge, and read a total of 351 pages. I’m still sick but doing much better now!

10 comments on “Ho-Ho-Ho Read-a-thon November 7th-11th 2013

  1. I love Heather Graham’s paranormal investigative series, and I think I have tried one of her holiday books..so I look forward to your review. Code Verify is suppose to be good as well. Good luck!

    • It really is good so far, I’m glad the author has a second companion book that I can read after too 🙂
      I haven’t read anything by Heather Graham either, but her Christmas books sounded like they’d be good.

  2. Oh, I haven’t heard about this one yet! I’m trying to catch up on review books at the moment (I can finally say I only have a few more left, phew :D) but I’ll probably start reading Christmassy books in early December.

    Hope you enjoy your books and manage to reach your goals!

    • I was probably going to start Christmas books next month, but I figured why not go for it and have fun! That way I can get reviews scheduled early too 🙂
      Thank you!

  3. Code Name Verity was outstanding, one of my favorite books ever!!! I just added both of those Heather Graham books to my holiday list (not for the read a thon, just in general lol), they sound so fun!! There are too many Christmas books, I’m overwhelemed haha 😛 Good luck with your goals!!!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

