Review: Personal Demon by Kelley Armstrong

DSCF2099

Title:Personal Demon (Women of the Otherworld #8)

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Release Date/Publisher: September 30th 2008 by Seal Books

Finished: September 10th 2013 (originally read years ago)

Pages: 544-paperback-owned

Series:

  1. Bitten
  2. Stolen
  3. Dime Store Magic
  4. Industrial Magic
  5. Haunted
  6. Broken
  7. No Humans Involved
  8. Personal Demon
  9. Living with the Dead
  10. Frostbitten
  11. Waking the Witch
  12. Spell Bound
  13. Thirteen

Synopsis:

Hope Adams, tabloid journalist and half-demon, looks like a Bollywood princess. Like full demons, she gets an almost sexual rush from danger and chaos–in fact, she thrives on it. But she is determined to use her gifts for good.

When the head of the powerful Cortez Cabal calls in an old debt and asks her to infiltrate a Miami gang of bored, rich, troublemaking supernaturals, she can’t resist the excitement. As she becomes dangerously entangled in the plot she has no choice but to turn to her crooked werewolf ex-boyfriend, and the heir to the Cortez Cabal, for help.

What I thought:

This book in the series brings Hope, the half-demon, into the story more as our main female lead! It also features Lucas with his own POV chapters. It was kind of cool being able to see what was developing from two different sides, and it was also nice to get to see more of him! Learning more about Karl was pretty awesome too. He’s the lone werewolf who always seems so suave and good with people, but when it concerns Hope he gets all protective and more caring. I think their relationship was cute, even though they both have issues that they need to deal with.

I have to admit that I didn’t really like Hope when I first read this series and I put off reading this book again. It was definitely better this time around, but she’s still lower on my scale of characters I like. Her powers were definitely unique, a half-demon that only gets the chaos and no other power. But there’s just nothing amazing that she does in this story that makes me like her anymore than someone else.

The story itself was really good, and I loved the mystery of what was going on with the gang and who was behind certain events throughout the whole story. It really does capture you, but I felt more involved with Lucas through certain events than I did Hope.

If you’re reading through this series, I hope you enjoy this one though!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “Review: Personal Demon by Kelley Armstrong

  1. When I first read this series; the installments featuring witches were my least favourite but when I re-read it a 2nd time last year, I was surprised by how much more I enjoyed ’em. Either way, you can’t go wrong with this series. Great review!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

