Review: A Darkness Strange and Lovely by Susan Dennard

darknessstrangeandlovely

Title: A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly #2)

Author: Susan Dennard

Release Date: July 23rd 2013 by HarperTeen

Read: September 15th 2013

Pages: 406-Hardcover-Owned

Series: 

  1. Something Strange and Deadly
  2. A Darkness Strange and Lovely
  3. Strange and Ever After

Synopsis:

Following an all-out battle with the walking Dead, the Spirit Hunters have fled Philadelphia, leaving Eleanor alone to cope with the devastating aftermath. But there’s more trouble ahead—the evil necromancer Marcus has returned, and his diabolical advances have Eleanor escaping to Paris to seek the help of Joseph, Jie, and the infuriatingly handsome Daniel once again. When she arrives, however, she finds a whole new darkness lurking in this City of Light. As harrowing events unfold, Eleanor is forced to make a deadly decision that will mean life or death for everyone.

What I thought:

I loved the first book in this series so much, and I can’t believe I waited a few months to read this one! Then again, it shipped late with another book so I could get free shipping, but still!

There are many books that I’ve become a bit emotional over and really enjoyed, but parts of this book gave me ALL the feels! I forgot how much I missed this story, with Eleanor and Daniel and all of their romantic tension. Add to that all that was going on when she got to Paris: the thrill of dark magic, necromancers, and of course more zombies. I just couldn’t put it down!

Eleanor was so strong in the first book and I really loved her character. But now that dark magic enters her life, she slowly starts to change and the battle to fight off any temptation to use the magic gets harder for her. I felt bad that she thought she needed the magic to fight off Marcus from the last book, instead of trusting in her companions like before. And the deeper she gets into it, the more the lies come and mess everything up later on. Daniel was just as heartbreaking in this one, and he’s undergone a bit of a change himself which was interesting. I liked how he kept slipping to his old self at times.

I really did like that the story goes more into the magic arts and necromancy too, and even talks more about demons and Le Mort (the zombies). It’s the perfect dark, romantic read, and just what I needed right now! Definitely pick up a copy of this book, and the first if you haven’t already! I’m eagerly awaiting the next installment! 🙂

SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: A Darkness Strange and Lovely by Susan Dennard

  1. Dunno how much it is there but shipping from Amazon here is CRAZY expensive. Like almost the same price as a hardcover book. So yeah I would have waited too. I didn’t love he first one as much as many others – mostly bc I was expecting more a zombie book and less paranormal romance. It was still a fun book though and I’m curious where the sequel will take us. It sounds like a pretty strong sequel, too! Glad you liked it!

    • I don’t know how much it is with Amazon to get here, but I mostly use Chapters for buying books. It took so long to get this one because I wanted free shipping and had to wait for everything to ship at once lol.
      I love this series, so I hope you at least enjoy this one when you read it! 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

