Review: A Witch in Winter by Ruth Warburton

IMG_0291

Title: A Witch in Winter (Winter Trilogy #1)

Author: Ruth Warburton

Release Date/Publisher: January 5th 2012 by Hodder Children’s Books

Finished: September 22nd 2013

Pages: 346-Paperback-Owned

Series:

  1. A Witch in Winter
  2. A Witch In Love
  3. A Witch Alone

Synopsis:

Anna Winterson doesn’t know she’s a witch and would probably mock you for believing in magic, but after moving to the small town of Winter with her father, she learns more than she ever wanted to about power. When Anna meets Seth, she is smitten, but when she enchants him to love her, she unwittingly amplifies a deadly conflict between two witch clans and splits her own heart in two. She wants to love Seth, to let him love her – but if it is her magic that’s controlling his passion, then she is as monstrous as the witch clan who are trying to use her amazing powers for their own gain.

What I thought:

Honestly, this book was a good start to a series but I’m having a hard time finding words for this review. I did enjoy it, but not as much as I have with other books that I’ve loved. I didn’t have any huge problems with the characters, just that I hope they’ll grow more as the series goes on. I really did love the whole feel of the small town of Winter like the close-knit feel of the townspeople and how they knew everything about everyone. The whole UK setting and their terminology to match it was awesome and I enjoyed some of the slang they had.

The magic was pretty cool too, how she came to knowing about it and tried to develop it and help others in such a short amount of time. I’m really looking forward to seeing more of that, as well as learn more about their world. The action and magical fighting was fun, especially the ending.

Anna seemed like a nice girl, but she’s missing a bit of confidence in herself, and she needs to stop doubting Seth and his love for her, even with the spell. I liked Emmaline and her mom a lot though!

Like I said, this book was a nice start to a series that I hope I’ll fall in love with, and while I liked it I also don’t have a lot of complaints either. I just want a little bit more of that magic and for Anna to become stronger.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

