Review: The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle

infinite

Title: The Infinite Moment of Us

Author: Lauren Myracle

Release Date/Publisher: August 27th 2013 by Amulet Books

Finished: October 30th 2013

Pages: 316-Hardcover-Library

Synopsis:

For as long as she can remember, Wren Gray’s goal has been to please her parents. But as high school graduation nears, so does an uncomfortable realization: Pleasing her parents once overlapped with pleasing herself, but now… not so much. Wren needs to honor her own desires, but how can she if she doesn’t even know what they are?

Charlie Parker, on the other hand, is painfully aware of his heart’s desire. A gentle boy with a troubled past, Charlie has loved Wren since the day he first saw her. But a girl like Wren would never fall for a guy like Charlie—at least not the sort of guy Charlie believes himself to be.

And yet certain things are written in the stars. And in the summer after high school, Wren and Charlie’s souls will collide. But souls are complicated, as are the bodies that house them…

Sexy, romantic, and oh-so-true to life, this is an unforgettable look at first love from one of young adult fiction’s greatest writers.

What I thought:

I had some mixed feeling with this book. I liked parts of it, but I also didn’t like the book very much.

I liked how Wren wanted to break away from the mold of what her parents wanted her to do (they’re very controlling) especially since she wanted to help people. She kept getting randomly philosophical about things like life and souls though. Charlie seemed like a nice guy too and I did like the small glimpse into his past. I liked that he seemed to care for Wren a lot too. He had some issues with a past girl, Starrla, who I thought was mean and kind of crazy.

But at the same time I had a hard time getting into the book. I wanted to like it a lot more and I kept wanting to take a break from it too. I just wanted a lot more from it. I wanted to feel so much more engaged or at least interested in what was going on. I couldn’t tell if it was the characters or just the story at first that I didn’t like, but it was a combination of both. The ending was ok but it was left open. Although you expect things to be fully resolved it isn’t actually written down, but more left to your imagination and you’re inclined to think it will all be ok. I don’t usually like those kinds of ending unfortunately.

This book had some great potential but I had a hard time enjoying what I read and I kept wanting to DNF it. If you loved it though that’s great!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurple

3 comments on “Review: The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle

  1. So weird I’ve read like 3 books with a Wren in it in the last few months and now this one. What’s up with that? O_o Shame that this wasn’t better though it’s like contemporaries are not as good as they were earlier this year. The kind of ending mentioned here can be a hit or miss for me I find it has to go with the whole package – like it has to fit the book. I wasn’t too sure about this one from the start so maybe I should listen to my instincts >.<

    • It must be a popular name! It reminds me of a bird though lol.
      Definitely listen to your instincts, there really are a lot more engaging contemps out there 🙂

  2. I absolutely adore the cover of this one but to be honest I don’t think it’s really the kind of book for me! Maybe if you had LOVED it I’d want to add it to my TBR anyway but as it stands I think I’ll pass. It sucks when you have such a hard time getting into a story 😦 Thanks for the lovely review nonetheless ^^

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

