Question: What is blogging to you?

Question

I know everyone’s different, but how important is blogging to you? Do you work full-time and keep blogging as a hobby, or blog full time instead? Do you sneak in blogging while at work?

For me, blogging is a hobby that I spend a decent amount of time on. The reading itself I think takes up the most of it though. When I was working I would blog in the evenings mostly and some on the weekends. I really wished back then that I could work on blogging stuff while at work but honestly I was so busy most of the time, and I wouldn’t have gotten away with it.

Now I have this spare time during the day since I’m not working, and I’m trying to figure out exactly what to do with it. I don’t want to forget blogging, but I have other things I want to get back into, like video games and going out more.

So tell me, how much of your days are spent blogging?

15 comments on “Question: What is blogging to you?

  1. My blog is rather new so I would say it is defiantly a hobby. If I could make money off my blog I would love to do it full time. But as it stands I normally work on it every other day at night. Maybe from 9-1 in the morn. Making a post for one or two days. Reading is extra. I did notice that blogging about reading did cut into my actual reading time. 😉

  2. I definitely see blogging as a hobby, I spend more time on it than I thought I would – but it keeps me from being bored I suppose 🙂 I work full time and I’m always super busy the first week of a month; but after that I occasionally send myself notes about my bookish thoughts.

    I’m not sure how much time I spend on it, perhaps a 2-3 hours each night depending on the day (or which shows I have to watch haha) I read during my lunch break at work and occasionally in the evening (and always at the weekend). I do wish I had more time to read, but knowing me, I’d use spare time to do other things.

  3. I used to blog a lot more than I do now mostly because I would tweak my sidebar and design etc so now I’m finally happy with all that and only have to work on posts. Usually I will spend one afternoon doing up posts for the week, then I don’t have to blog at all for another week. It works great for me and it makes me not have to worry about blogging every single day which can get tiring. I think you just have to find that balance that works for you.

  4. Blogging to me is a great hobby. I’d love to do it more, but there’s only so much I can read. Once I become a full time student, it will most likely decrease drastically. I read 22 books in November, I’m on my third book of December. I start back at college in January taking an intensive course, so I’ll maybe be able to read 20 or so books in 2014. Blogging is definitely something I have found a love for in the last month since I started!

  5. My blog is certainly a hobby. I’ve never had time to blog at any of my jobs, and even if I did, I don’t think I would. Most of my employers would certainly have frowned upon it! Mostly I blog in my spare time at night or on the weekends, and I try to schedule posts in advance so I can keep up!

  6. I too think it’s a hobby and it does truly take up a lot of my time just reading, blogging, and catching up on posts I’ve missed. But as we all have pointed out, i would love to do more and most definitely have more time for it. With work and all the realities of life it’s getting kind of complicated. But I still try to make time for it so it’s still going good.

  7. I’m the same, it’s definitely a hobby, not a full time job/thing. I used to spend a lot more time with trying to come up with event and discussion ideas but now I just try to take it easy and blog whenever I want to. 🙂 It’s less pressure and definitely more fun!

  8. What a lovely question! Blogging is a hobby to me but it’s also a passion, an addition, an outlet, a way of life…
    I definitely sneak it in at work (I’m definitely NOT doing this right now mwahaha wink wink) — It’s so busy at home that I need to sneak it in wherever I can!!

  9. Great question! I read every free evening I have and it’s pretty much the only hobby thing that I do. I am a grad student and try to be in the lab or classes 9-5 so that I don’t feel guilty going home and reading ;-). I write reviews and posts when I’m inspired/as a reading break/on the weekend when the boyfriend is watching TV so I can’t read but I can write a TTT post :). Blogging/reading all day sounds a bit overwhelming ;-). If you’re having trouble balancing, maybe time yourself for reading a couple of hours and then break to do something else? I like scheduling my freetime when I have a lot of it because otherwise I get overwhelmed haha

  10. To me, blogging is a two-way street. I usually spend a couple of hours a week on the blog, whether it’s posting a picture, an interview or a story that moves me. On the other side of the street, I find myself spending more time investigating other people’s blogs to see what they’re reading, what’s coming out soon, etc. I’m seeing lots of snowflakes these days… which is nice as I live in super sunny Southern California.

  11. Since I can’t use blogging as a means of income, I can definitely say it’s a hobby. One I feel very pasionate about, mind-you, as I will be increasing my ability to communicate my feelings about the library world that I work in along with my ramblings, and reviews..
    – Krys

  12. I’d classify my blogging as a full time hobby. I have a slew of health challenges that prevent me from working so blogging is what keeps me sane. Reading time does not present a challenge either. I’m on a dialup connection so I read during page loads. Cuts down on the number of times per day I scream at my computer,

    Now if I could actually make money doing this, I’d definitely say job. That not being the case however, I’ll have to stick with hobby.

    And speaking of snow. I keep seeing white spots falling down my computer screen….

  13. Lately I spend more time reading than blogging. When I have a free minute, I’d rather read than write a post. I’m hoping I’ll be able to get a groove soon though. But I feel like you, too. It’s nice to spend time on the other things I love, too! I definitely don’t spend as much time blogging now as I did before baby … or even before my pregnancy. Maybe it’s just the times changing for me … but I’ll always be reading, that’s for sure.

    Great discussion!

  14. Blogging is something that has evolved over the years I’ve been doing it. First I had personal journals, just stupid little “this is how my day went” stuff. Then I started finding more professional blogs, and decided to get into book reviewing via blogging. It’s been a more or less constant thing now for me every since I started that. I blog regularly. I write posts at work so that I can post them when I get home. I look forward to interacting with other people via blogs. The only thing wrong with my plan is that I can’t make blogging a real source of income. If I could figure out that little secret, I’d have it made!

    But otherwise, I put about as much time into stuff related to blogging than I put into my day job, assuming you count the books I read in order to review them as “something related to blogging.” And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

