Review: Sins of the Angels by Linda Poitevin

sinsoftheangels

Title: Sins of the Angels (Grigori Legacy #1)

Author: Linda Poitevin

Release Date/Publisher: September 27th 2011 by Ace

Finished: September 28th 2013

Pages: 325-Paperback-Library

Series: 

  1. Sins of the Angels
  2. Sins of the Son
  3. Sins of the Lost

Synopsis:

When homicide detective Alexandra Jarvis is assigned a new partner in Aramael, a Guardian Angel who doubles as a hit man, they have only one thing in common: a fallen angel hell-bent on triggering the apocalypse. Now they have no choice but to work together-relentlessly, fearlessly, intimately. Because only they can stop the rogue angel from ushering in the end of days.

What I thought:

Ok, let me tell you that this book was pure awesome! I’m usually leery of books that have angels in the story, but I really wanted to give this book a try since I’ve read another book by the author and loved it. And by the first 30 pages I was already hooked! I of course have the next book beside me, waiting to be read. But what was so good about it?

First there’s the issue of Alex’s past creeping back into her job and trying to stay sane, all while seeing things that shouldn’t be there. I felt so sorry for her, because I knew what Aramael was, but with her struggles I was really hoping she would keep it together, and she did really well. She’s definitely a caring, strong and independent woman, and I liked that she didn’t fall head over heels for him and swoon right away.

Then there’s Aramael, who is a lot more than he seems and who has secrets in his past too (we know he’s an angel though as the book starts). Then add all that romantic tension and the electricity that just seems to draw them together. And no this was not insta-love, there was a build up of lust as it went on after their first meeting, but it actually took time and wasn’t instant which I really appreciated. It really had me wanting them to get together too, even though they’re not allowed to be. There is no sex involved in this book, so if that kind of thing upsets you don’t worry. This book has so much awesome going on that it doesn’t need it.

The build up to the final confrontation was so good! It was all a matter of time before they finally found Caim (the fallen angel) and brought things to a close. I really didn’t want this book to end, especially after that ending. But luckily it does continue!

If you’re looking for a more mature read with a sexy angel, a stubborn cop and a thrilling hunt for an otherworldly killer, then definitely check this book out!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: Sins of the Angels by Linda Poitevin

    • I can’t wait to meet her! I couldn’t make it to the last event she hosted for her new book unfortunately 😦
      I’ve read the second book, just waiting to buy the third now.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

