Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

obsidian

Title: Obsidian (Lux #1)

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout 

Release Date/Publisher:  May 8th 2012 by Entangled Teen

Finished: November 21st 2013

Pages: 335-Paperback-Owned

Series: 

  1. Obsidian
  2. Onyx
  3. Opal
  4. Origin
  5. Opposition

Synopsis:

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

What I thought:

I had originally read this at the beginning of last year but never actually reviewed it. I loved it the first time around too. So now I’m doing a re-read and I’m finally going to start the next book, which has just been sitting on my shelf.

This book is about Aliens that have landed and assimilated on earth, and the bad guys that chase after them. And of course lots of budding romance. I really liked that the alien aspect of them was different though. Their powers and what they changed into was pretty awesome! Even the Arum that faced them were written well, you really got a sense that they were evil and dark.

I have to admit that I liked the main character more than I thought I would. She’s a book blogger and loves books, which of course I can relate with. She can get pretty feisty and fights with Daemon a bunch, but she can at least stand up for herself even if she blushes a lot. I mean, who wouldn’t? She isn’t weak either and she does help along the way.

Daemon acted like a jerk most of the time, but when you find out why you start to understand him more. His sister and his kind is the most important to him and he will protect them at any cost. Even if it means trying to push away a potential human friend of Dee’s. He also had some of his own chapters at the end of the book and I really loved the little glimpse into what he was thinking at certain points of the book. The softer sides that I sometimes saw were so sweet.

The romance between the two wasn’t instant, there was some growing lust and some steamy scenes, but these two still have a bit to go before they’re (hopefully) together. I really hope that in the next book they advance, even though you can’t tell by the end of this book.

If you’re wanting a book with aliens, action, and an intense connection between the two then pick this up!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

3 comments on “Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. This one has been sitting on my shelf taunting me for far too long haha! I’m really pleased to see that you enjoyed it, it really does seem to have gotten A LOT of love so it makes me even more excited about it. I love that the MC is a blogger & book lover like you mentioned and I’m glad that Daemon isn’t just a jerk for nothing, having a reason behind it helps! I can’t wait to see how you’ll do with the rest of the series!! Lovely review Kelsey ^^

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

