Review: Independent Study by Joelle Charbonneau

independent study

Title: Independent Study (The Testing #2)

Author: Joelle Charbonneau

Release Date/Publisher: January 7th 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers

Finished: November 30th 2013

Pages: 310-ARC given for review

Series:


1.The Testing
2.Independent Study
3.Graduation Day

Synopsis:

In the series debut The Testing, sixteen-year-old Cia Vale was chosen by the United Commonwealth government as one of the best and brightest graduates of all the colonies . . . a promising leader in the effort to revitalize postwar civilization. In Independent Study, Cia is a freshman at the University in Tosu City with her hometown sweetheart, Tomas—and though the government has tried to erase her memory of the brutal horrors of The Testing, Cia remembers. Her attempts to expose the ugly truth behind the government’s murderous programs put her—and her loved ones—in a world of danger. But the future of the Commonwealth depends on her.

What I thought:

I received an advanced review copy of this from the publisher, thank you guys! I’m not sure if anything has changed from this to the final version since I can’t compare, so just be aware that it might. I will try not to spoil anything though. But hopefully you’ve read the first book, which was awesome!

First books in a series that amaze you will most like leave you disappointed with the second book. That’s not the case here! I have to say that this book was comparable to the first. Even after all the craziness of what went on in the last book, this one still had some shocking moments that just got to me.

You assume that going to the University will make everything alright, but there’s still losses and testing that could mean life or death. There’s also a much deeper involvement with the government and the people who ran the testing and all the corruptness that a Dystopian book should have.

Cia is just as amazing in this book. She’s still using her brain to figure things out and growing stronger because of it. I love how she figures things out that no one really does at first. She is still scared when it come to certain things but she handles it better on the outside than others and doesn’t always let it stop her. She seems like a great person too. The romance between her and Tomas is in the background and doesn’t make that much of an appearance which I kind of liked. He still has a secret that he hides from her, and she doubts at times whether she can trust him or not.

I really enjoyed this book and I think that if you loved the first one you definitely need to read this. So far this is a Dystopian series that has kept my whole attention and one that I would gladly read again!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: Independent Study by Joelle Charbonneau

  1. I definitely enjoyed this one more than the first. I was disappointed with the first one, to be honest. It was way too much like The Hunger Games. But this took a totally different turn and that cliffhanger ending (while I had already figured it out) has left me wanting more!

  2. Cia is very smart!!! A lot smarter than I am haha. So happy to see that you loved it! I actually struggled a bit in the beginning of this one but I love how different this was from the first book in the sense that it got a lot deeper into the plot of the book! Book one set up a lot but we really got to dig deeper here! 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

