Question: New Year’s Resolutions

Question

It’s a new year now and that means new challenges, books and goals! Do you participate in challenges or set a reading goal for yourself? Also, what are your plans for the year? Any blogging resolutions?

I told myself I wan’t going to sign up for any challenges this year because I totally failed the one for my TBR pile, but I figured just a couple should be okay if I can manage them easily. The obvious one is the Goodreads challenge, and I think I will end up going with 80 since it will be a busy year. I also have the Seriously Series one that will help with my current pile of books and the Book Bingo.

For 2013 I went in with the mentality that I would try and read at my own pace and take it easy, but I ended up doing a bunch of book tours right at the beginning and those deadlines were just too much. I was also reading a lot of books that I didn’t like and ended up in a bunch of slumps because I felt burnt out and stressed and I wasn’t interested in anything. Eventually I just started reading my own stuff and took breaks which helped.

I think this year I’m only going to read books that I really want to and focus mainly on ones I already have. There will be some from the library and review requests and some ARCs but I will try and keep that smaller. I’ve already closed review requests down except for authors I’ve already worked with for a while. My reading pile isn’t crazy but I would like to get everything all read this year so I can welcome in more new books later.

So my goals for the year:

  • Read what I want
  • Take it easy, don’t let blogging stress me out
  • Spend more time outside of blogging with friends and family
  • Meet new bloggers
  • Host a read-a-thon
  • Read more non-fiction books, even if I don’t review them

List any goals below as well as your comments! I’m excited to see what everyone has to say 🙂

12 comments on “Question: New Year’s Resolutions

  1. 2014 will actually be all about my TBR; I’ve decided it’s TOO big and I’m going to start working my way through it almost exclusively. 🙂 I’ll mix up the stuff I’m not so keen to read with the stuff I am and have a fun year, hopefully. Then in December I can cart a lot of stuff off to the charity shop and make myself some room, as an early xmas present!

    • That’s probably a good idea. If I had a bigger pile I would do something similar, but I’m just going to try and read my own before going to the library.
      Yay for donating books! I want to see if there’s somewhere here where I could do that in the future, thank you for the wonderful idea!

  2. My TBR has to be reduced and I like being able to read what I want when I want to so I decided as much as I was tempted not to sign up to any challenges. I think your goals are great and I hope 2014 is a great reading year for you.

    • It’s more fun reading what you want too, so that’s a good idea for the year! It’s hard not to want to sign up for so many challenges, I think my first year blogging I had five, including Goodreads.
      Thank you!

    • I need to get more into those someday, but I usually get distracted when I do something else. Will try again though.
      Thanks, good luck with more audiobooks!

  3. Great goals for the year! Mine include reading what I want when I want and not stressing over how long it might take me to finish a book (my first read took 4 days!). As far as challenges go, I’m doing the Book Bingo one (obviously) and the Goodreads one. Less stress is best! 🙂

    Good luck with the resolutions!

  4. Good luck with your goals 🙂 I’m going to be trying to read a bunch of books I own but haven’t got around to reading yet. So many books and too little time. I know there’s some on my shelves that have been there for the best part of a decade *sigh* which is a bit ridiculous lol

  5. Yup, I got into a huge reading slump when I started working a lot more – I was putting too much pressure on myself to read review books before they released and it was taking all the fun out of it for me. Good thinking on reading what YOU want, that’s really the way to do it 😀 I also failed horribly on my GR reading challenge for 2013…it was the first time I failed 😦 I wish you much success with all your goals for 2014 xx

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

